Skip to header Skip to Content Skip to Footer
hand holding paper scroll during commencement

Scholarships & Grants Awarded by Staff Senate

Scholarships and Grants

Apply here

Global Partnerships and International Education supports staff in gaining global perspectives to benefit their professional excellence at UNCW. The Staff Senate Scholarship Committee will review applications with recommendations made to the GPIE Associate Provost. Apply for this unique opportunity by May 31 for travel associated with the following academic year. Learn more about award guidelines.

Apply here

The Staff Senate Scholarship was established to foster a spirit of unity, pride and cooperation among staff members by recognizing the leadership role staff play in the daily work of the university. This merit-based scholarship will be used to support university staff members and their dependents seeking a degree at the university. Approximately four scholarships are awarded each year, with an average amount of $500 each.


  • All permanent SHRA and EHRA non-faculty employees (working a minimum of ¾ of the time) and their dependents are eligible and encouraged to apply
  • The recipient must be accepted into UNCW and be pursuing a degree
  • Open to undergraduate and graduate students

Application, Deadline & Selection

  • Scholarship applications will open on December 1, 2023 with priority deadline of 11:59pm on March 1st, 2024.
    • Applications are collected through Seaport.
  • Applications will be accepted via the University Scholarship Application. Please respond to the specific Staff Senate Scholarship short answer question to apply.
  • The priority application deadline is March 1, 2024, but applications will be accepted until June 1, 2024.
  • Staff Senate Scholarship Committee will review all applications and select the recipient(s)
  • Award winners will be notified by July 2024 and will be invited to attend an award presentation during a Staff Senate meeting.

For questions, email or call 910.962.3177.

The Textbook Scholarship Program allows eligible UNCW employees to borrow required textbook(s) from the UNCW Bookstore for undergraduate or graduate classes taken by tuition benefit or fee waiver. Find application information and details.

The Janet B. Royster (JBR) Memorial Staff Scholarship Fund was created in August of 2011 by the UNC Staff Assembly in memory of UNC-TV employee Janet B. Royster. Janet represented UNC-TV on the General Administration Staff Forum and was subsequently elected to the UNC Staff Assembly. She served as its first Parliamentarian until her untimely death in June 2011. This scholarship promotes staff development for permanent, full-time, non-faculty employees, as well as recognizes and honors Janet’s leadership and dedication to all UNC employees.

The Erskine B. Bowles Staff Service Award is given to a permanent, full-time staff member who has shown exemplary understanding, empathy, and devotion to mankind and whose accomplishments are consistent with the goals exemplified by Erskine B. Bowles during his tenure as UNC President and in accordance with the University's public service mission.