Division of Student Affairs

Division Committees

Student Affairs Committees and Work Groups

Statement of Rationale:
The Division of Student Affairs is invested in the professional career development of its staff, including professional staff and professional administrative staff. To that end, myriad opportunities exist for staff to volunteer for divisional committees and workgroups. Staff are encouraged to discuss their interests in divisional service with their supervisor before requesting to serve on a divisional committee or workgroup.

Current Student Affairs Committees and Work Groups:

Listed below are current Student Affairs committees. To express interest in a specific committee, click on the chair's name to contact the chair by e-mail.

Assessment Committee
Responsible for communicating empirically-based findings to the vice chancellor in ways that empower informed decision making. Works through the process of transitioning from a summative, evaluative understanding of assessment (student satisfaction surveys, value of service delivery surveys, etc.) to one grounded in a richer understanding of student learning. Develops a common assessment lexicon reflecting an outcomes-based approach to assessment.
Chair: Allison Kalmykov
Members: Candice Johnston, Tim Lewis, Christina Logan, Diane Reed, Jaime Russell, Chris Stone, Keith Wickliffe, Will Wilkinson, Larry Wray

Awards and Recognition Committee
Responsible for organizing and disseminating welcome bags for new employees within the division. Coordinates the annual divisional awards process, including nomination and committee selection process. Creates the program and hosts the annual luncheon.
Chair: Candace Reeder
Vice Chair:
Liaison: Eric Simon
Members: Laura Adams, Leona Baird, Monica Chase, Stephanie Ganser, Zach Gilbert, Agnes Huang, Matt Herrington, Abby Knight, Eric Martin, Amber Resetar, Donovan Smith

Diversity Committee
Responsible for identifying staff training and development initiatives, staff recruitment and retention activities and student education. The committee presents their recommendations for action on an ongoing basis.
Chair: Clifton Williams
Vice Chair: Richard Kilgore
Liaison: Brian Victor
Members: Stefanie Anderson, Amy Cavanaugh, Monica Chase, Barbie Cowan, Gina DeMattei, Ashley "Sam" Jessup, Chip Phillips, Alejandra Ramirez, Sarah Rohrman, Kathryn Winn

Ethics Committee
Responsible for educating students about the importance of ethical decision making and leadership. The committee primarily facilitates presentations for student organizations/leaders, employees, and in a variety of academic classes.
Chair: Chip Phillips
Vice Chair:
Members: Bill DiNome, Amber Resetar, Michael Ruwe, Ali Scott, Chelsea Stant

Parent's Mini-Grant Committee
Responsible for awarding funding for programs for students within the Division of Student Affairs.
Chair: Chip Phillips
Vice Chair:
Liaison: Pat Leonard
Members: Jen Adler, Amelie Brogden, Bill DiNome, Peter Groenendyk, Sue Johnson, David Parker

Professional Administrative Staff Committee
Responsible for planning and coordinating the annual professional administrative staff retreat.
Chair: Sue Johnson
Vice Chair: Susan Smith
Liaison: Eric Simon
Members: Lauren Auton, Megan Hilliard, Gail Hogan, Tarita Nelms, Lama Taj-Eldin, Racheal Walton

Professional Development Committee
Responsible for providing a range of opportunities for the intellectual, professional, social and cultural development of the Division of Student Affairs staff in order to increase knowledge of UNCW, enhance professional competencies and deliver exceptional service to students.
Chair: Tim Lewis
Vice Chair: Mike Ruwe
Liaison: Brian Victor
Members: Beth Ann Bryant-Richards, Leia Charnin, Bill DiNome, Stephanie Ganser, Stacey Huffman, Candice Johnston, Allison Kalmykov, Ryane Miller, Brittany Philbert

Tech & Web Committee (Inactive)
Responsible for assisting the division with tech and web development.
Vice Chair:

Cornerstone Community Standards Committee (Workgroup)
Co-Chairs: Chip Phillips