Department of Psychology

UNCW Psychology Statement on Diversity

The Psychology Department takes responsibility to engender a climate of inclusiveness, mutual respect, acceptance and open-mindedness among students, faculty, staff, and the broader community. 

Diversity is an educational benefit that enhances the academic experience and fosters a free exchange of ideas from multiple perspectives.  We understand that these experiences promote not only the growth of individuals and our community, but also of the field of psychological science.

Diversity includes, but is not limited to race, sex, age, national origin (including ethnicity), language, religion, disability, sexual orientation, gender, veteran’s status, socio-economic status, and history of overcoming adversity. 

Psychology Department Commitment to Anti-Racism  

As faculty members of the UNCW Psychology Department, we are united by our commitment to diversity, inclusion, and social justice. We denounce the systemic and institutional racism that has led to the marginalization and murders of countless Black people. We commit to combatting racism by fostering inclusivity within our community, offering care and support to our students and colleagues, and strengthening our resolve to advocate for change on both individual and systemic levels. We stand in solidarity with marginalized and targeted members in our community, including our campus community. As faculty, we commit to working even harder to root out oppression, bias, and bigotry on our campus, in our communities and within ourselves.  

Lands Acknowledgement 

The Department of Psychology at UNCW acknowledges with gratitude that the land that we are on was originally stewarded by Indigenous peoples, including the Waccamaw-Sioux tribe.   

We honor and respect the Indigenous peoples connected to this land. We continue to consciously reflect on the history and legacy of colonialism, and reflect on ways to strengthen relationships with the many Indigenous people who presently live and work in the region and in the state.   

Today, the state of North Carolina recognizes eight tribes: Coharie (Sampson & Harnett counties); Eastern Band of Cherokee (tribal reservation in the Mountains); Haliwa-Saponi (Halifax & Warren counties); Lumbee (Robeson & surrounding counties); Meherrin (Hertford & surrounding counties); Occaneechi Band of Saponi Nation (Alamance and surrounding counties); Sappony (Person County); Waccamaw-Siouan (Columbus and Bladen counties).  

To learn more about Indigenous peoples and their land, we invite you to explore these resources:  

UNCW Psychology Stands in Grief & Solidarity with AAPI Communities

To our Asian, Asian American, and Pacific Islander students, faculty, staff, and, friends, you are not alone. The Department of Psychology at UNCW stands in unity with all members of our Asian, Asian American, and Pacific Islander community. We are horrified and grieve with you in the wake of the murders in Atlanta, GA. As faculty members, we unequivocally denounce all acts of anti-Asian racism and violence. While anti-Asian racism is not new, the recent murders and attacks reemphasize the urgency to rededicate ourselves to embracing and supporting human diversity, equity, and inclusion. As a Department, we must remain vigilant to acknowledge and condemn ongoing anti-Asian hate. We must identify effective and actionable ways to combat it.  Racism in all of its forms has no home in our Department.  

To learn more about anti-Asian racism and violence, as well as how you can help stop it, please visit these sites: