Community Engagement Advisory Board

The UNCW Community Engagement Advisory Board is a representative advisory committee of faculty, staff, students, and community representatives that assist with coordinating and developing policies and procedures to facilitate engagement. The Advisory Board also selects small community engagement seed grant recipients, recognizes and rewards outstanding engagement activities, supports volunteerism and community service, and identifies signature projects for the university to pursue.

Members were nominated and appointed by the Associate Vice Chancellor for Community Engagement for a 2-calendar year term. The Board meets 3 times a year.

Current Advisory Board Members

Community Engagement Advisory Board
Member Institutional Affiliation Subcommittee
April Bice School of Nursing Faculty Engaged Scholarship
Jess Boersma CAS Associate Dean, Director of Applied Learning Engaged Learning
Kristin Bolton Social Work Faculty Recognize & Reward
Amanda Boomershine Humanities Faculty Engaged Learning
Natasha Davis Director, QENO Strategic Plan Implementation
Kristen DeVall* Social Sciences Faculty Assessment
James DeVita* Associate Director for Applied Learning, WCE Faculty Engaged Learning
Diane Durance Director, Center for Innovatoin and Entrepreneurship Strategic Plan Implementation, Volunteerism & Public Outreach
Clyde Edgerton Arts Faculty Recognize & Reward
Matt Eshleman Humanities Faculty Engaged Scholarship
Ed Graham Economics & Finance Faculty Volunteerism & Outreach
Chris Finelli* Dean, Graduate School UNCW at Home
Luke Haigh Undergraduate Student, SGA Engaged Learning
Amelia Huelskamp Health & Human Services Faculty Engaged Scholarship
Bill Kawczynski Director, Military Affairs Recognize & Reward
Scot Kelly Graduate Student Recognize & Reward
Jacqueline Lee Social Work Faculty Engaged Scholarship
Lindsey Leroy Director, Alumni Relations Recognize & Reward
Andy Mauk Associate Provost, Institutional Research & Planning Assessment
Jennifer McCall School of Nursing Faculty Engaged Scholarship
Jeanine Mingé* Associate Vice Chancellor, Community Engagement Strategic Plan Implementation
Kate Montwieler Director, Women's Studies & Resource Center, Institutional Diversity & Inclusion Engaged Learning
Shelley Morse Director, Osher Lifelong Learning Institute Strategic Plan Implementation, UNCW at Home
Rick Olsen Humanities Faculty UNCW at Home
Christine Ossipov Interim Director, Continued & Professional Education Strategic Plan Implementation, UNCW at Home
Justine Reel* Associate Dean for Research & Innovation, CHHS Engaged Scholarship
Fidias Reyes Office of the Arts Volunteerism & Outreach
Janna Robertson WCE Faculty Recognize & Reward
Jaime Russell Director, Student Leadership & Engagement Engaged Learning
Andy Ryder WCE Faculty Monitoring & Assessment
Steve Schnitzler Greater Wilmington Business Community, Port City Java Engaged Learning
Beth Schrader Chief Strategy Officer, New Hanover County UNCW at Home
Michel Shakelford* Human Resources Volunteerism & Outreach
Roger Shew Natural Sciences Faculty Engaged Scholarship
Mark Sorensen Arts Faculty Member Engaged Scholarship
Helena Spencer Arts Faculty Member Engaged Scholarship
Tuffana Thomas Public Government Official Recognize & Reward
Yasmin Tomkinson Greater Wilmington Nonprofit Community, Cape Fear Literacy Council Volunteerism & Outreach
Tiffany Tucker Athletics Chancellor's Strategic Plan
Andrea Weaver University Relations Volunteerism & Outreach
Ashley Wells* Assistant Dean for Community Engagement & Impact, CHHS Recognize & Reward
Michael Wilhelm Associate Provost, International Programs Strategic Plan Implementation

*Subcommittee chairs and co-chairs.