Earth and Ocean Sciences

2005 Faculty & Student News

Posted 11/21/2005
Dr. Lewis Abrams received $31,265 from the National Science Foundation to fund "Collaborative Research: Drilling Site Survey Life in Subseafloor Sediments of the South Pacific Gyre."

Posted 10/31/2005
The Association for Women Geoscientists is pleased to announce that the 2005 recipient of the Goldring Award is ERS graduate student René Shroat-Lewis. The Goldring Award is named in honor of Winifred Goldring, the first woman to be named State Paleontologist of New York (in 1939) and the first female president of the Paleontological Society (in 1949).

Posted 9/22/2005
Dr. Doug Gamble will receive the National Council for Geographic Education's annual Distinguished Teaching Achievement Award for 2005 at the council's annual meeting Oct. 12-15 in Birmingham, Al.

Posted 8/21/2005
Dr. Patricia Kelley was awarded the Faculty Scholarship Award at the first fauclty meeting of the 2005-2006 academic year onThursday Aug. 18.

Posted 5/10/2005
Dr. Nancy Grindlay received $64,343 from NOAA to fund "A pilot study to investigate the possible linkages between submarine groundwater fluxes and amphitheater-shaped scarps on the northern insular margin of Puerto Rico."

Dr. Lynn Leonard received $40,118 from the U.S. Army Engineers to fund "Service, Maintain, and calibrate remote data collections platforms in swamps and channels of the Cape Fear Basin."

Posted 3/15/2005
Students at A Gathering of Nobel Laureates: Science for the 21st Century at UNC-CharlotteERS graduate students Steven Gill and Dorien McGee, as well as Kristen Hardy and Jenny Wright of biological sciences and Camilo Alvarez of physics, were among 150 graduates and undergraduates selected to attend "A Gathering of Nobel Laureates: Science for the 21st Century" at UNC-Charlotte in March. This two-day event provided students with the opportunity to actively participate in both moderated and informal discussions with Laureates regarding issues in science, research, and current events. Laureates included: Edmond Fischer (Medicine, 1992), Douglas Osheroff and Robert Richardson (Physics, 1996), Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard (Medicine, 1995), and Günter Blobel (Medicine, 1999). The event was sponsored by TIAA-CREF and presented by The Charlotte Research Institute and The Echo Foundation.