Center for Marine Science

CMS :: Events

The Planet Ocean Seminar Series (next seminar: Feb. 11, 2020)

The Planet Ocean Seminar Series offers four lectures each academic year, featuring prominent speakers from our own faculty and other leading research institutions, from well-known environmental organizations, and from government agencies. The Planet Ocean Seminar Series is free and open to the public. Due to limited seating, however, reservations are required. To make reservations or for further information, please call the UNCW Center for Marine Science at 910-962-2301.

Please click on the series heading to see seminar topic and speaker information:

2019-20 Series
Dr. Ralph Mead
Dr. Paul Hosier
Dr. Till Wagner 

2018-19 Series
CANCELED - Mr. Steve Murphey
Dr. Wendy Strangman
RESCHEDULED - Mr. Steve Murphey
Dr. Paul Jensen
2012-13 Series
Dr. Dylan McNamara
Dr. Peter F. Sale
Dr. Daniel G. Baden
2006-07 Series
Dr. Lynn Leonard
Drs. Michael Mallin and James Merritt
Dr. Cindy Lee Van Dover
Dr. Nancy White
2017-18 Series
Dr. Greg Rouse
Roger Shew
Dr. John M. Morrison
Dr. Martin Posey & Mr. Troy Alphin
2011-12 Series
Dr. Marcia McNutt
Dr. Terry C. Hazen
Dr. Ami E. Wilbur
Dr. Steve W. Ross
2005-06 Series
Dr. John M. Morrison
William Todd
Samuel H. Wilson, M.D.
Dr. Jeffrey L.C. Wright
2016-17 Series
Drs. Andrea Hawkes and Chad Lane
Drs. Martin Posey and Ami Wilbur and Mr. Troy Alphin
Dr. Mark Luckenbach
Dr. Darren Rumbold
2010-11 Series
Dr. Otis Brown
Dr. John Rummel
Dr. Douglas Gamble
Dr. Larry Cahoon
2004-05 Series
Dr. Richard Lutz
Dr. Martin Posey
Dr. Richard Satterlie
Dr. Bess Ward
2015-16 Series
Dr. John M. Morrison
Dr. Stephen A. Skrabal
Tracy Skrabal
Dr. Kara Lavender Law
2009-10 Series
Dr. G. Brooks Avery
Dr. Jonathan Copley
J. Glenn Morris, Jr., M.D., M.P.H. & T.M.
Dr. Amanda Southwood
2003-04 Series
Dr. Daniel G. Baden
Dr. John Broadwater
Lora Fleming, M.D., Ph.D.
Vice Admiral Conrad Lautenbacher
2014-15 Series
Rebecca Ellin
Lance Horn, Jason White & Glenn Taylor
Dr. Curt Stager
Dr. Aswani Volety
2008-09 Series
Dr. Donald Boesch
Dr. Thomas Lankford
Dr. Stanley Riggs
Mr. Spencer Rogers
2002-03 Series
Dr. William Cleary
Dr. Rita Colwell
Dr. Roger Hanlon
Dr. Joseph Pawlik
2013-14 Series
Dr. Deborah A. Mosca
Dr. Frederick Chester
Dr. Carmelo R. Tomas
Dr. Robert B. Gagosian
Dr. Robert H. Condon
2007-08 Series
Dr. Lorraine Backer
Dr. D. Wilson Freshwater
Dr. Nancy Grindlay
Mr. George Keiffer
2001-02 Series
Dr. Steven Miller
Dr. Scott Nixon
Dr. D. Ann Pabst
Dr. Alina Szmant