Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship

Mentors

CIE

Suzanne Altobello

Associate Professor of Marketing, UNC Pembroke

altobello.research@gmail.com

Services:

  • Securing venture capital/pitching to investors
  • Startup launch
  • Business plan design
  • Digital marketing
  • Branding
  • Social media
  • Sales
  • Target market research

Steve Antini

Founder, Antini Law PLLC

steve@antinilaw.com

General Startup Business Consulting Services:

  • Product development, implementation and management
  • Startup business operations, customer success
  • Growth and scaling strategy

General Startup Legal Services:

  • Business formation 
  • Corporate compliance, policies and procedures
  • Contract drafting, negotiation, and review
  • Government affairs and advocacy

Steven Banks

NuWave Business Advisors

steven@nuwavecoaching.com

  • Business strategy and company development
  • Management consulting
  • Sales and marketing plans
  • Goal setting
  • Culture refinement
  • Business plan review
  • Process streamlining
  • Leadership development
  • Budget and forecasting
  • Industry benchmarking
  • Growing strategically
  • Exit and succession planning

Paul Baron

WebTel Marketing

paul@webtelmarketing.com

Services:

  • Strategic Relationships: Identifying and Managing Customers and Partners
  • Business and Market Development
  • Sales Strategies
  • Developing Pricing
  • Licensing
  • Royalty Revenue Models
  • Marketing and Engagement Strategies

Robin Bennett

Assistant Business Counselor (SBTDC) Small Business Technology Development Center

bennettr@uncw.edu

Services:

  • Evaluate and improve financial performance
  • Improve leadership skills and employee performance
  • Obtain quality business and market information

Laura Brogdon-Primavera

Manager of Programs and Operations

brogdonl@uncw.edu

910-962-3611

Services:

  • Professional Development and Networking
  • Manages student workers and projects
  • Event space reservation management
  • Event Advice and Promotion
  • Professional Skill Development
  • Guidance and workload assistance

Craig Galbraith

Office for Information and Commercialization

galbraithc@uncw.edu

910-962-3775

Services:

  • General Entrepreneurship Mentoring
  • Intellectual Property
  • Business Valuation
  • Feasibility studies for technology products

Jacqueline Gaulin

Gastro Girl

jgaulin@gastrogirl.com

Services:

  • Early stage start-ups (from passion to idea to execution)
  • “If It was Easy—Everyone Would Do It:” The Good, Bad, Ugly of Being a Start-Up Founder
  • Founder Frenzy—Know Your Strengths, How and When to find Partner, Quit Your Day Job, Build a Team
  • Making Sense of the Start Up Ecosystem (so many pitch opps, conferences, meetups, etc, so little time—time management—prioritizing and how/when to mute all the noise)
  • Trusting Your Gut, Being a Good Listener and Admitting What You Don’t Know
  • Lean Start Up/Boot Strapping/Funding – (Realities, Tips and Insights)
  • Female Entrepreneurs – Unique Challenges and Opportunities
  • Heath & Wellness Issues Related to Startup Founders/Entrepreneurs (How to manage, stress, anxiety and feelings of founder depression.)

Katrina Harrell

KM Harrell Group, LLC

katrina@katrinamharrell.com

Services:

  • Starting a business (basic business start-up)
  • Branding your business (on a bootstrap)
  • Preparing your business for funding
  • Developing a structure for your team
  • Proper organizing of your business (financial records, etc) from the start
  • Pricing your products and services for profit
  • Strategic partnerships and collaborations
  • Marketing strategy and content strategy (email, website, bios, product descriptions)
  • Basic PR (press releases), pitching to the media
  • Basic social media marketing
  • Using content to promote your business

Tracey Jackson

Execution Coach/Certified Personal Resilience Practitioner

tracey.jackson@unexoframework.com

Services:

  • Small business Success Planning
  • Small Business Goal Setting
  • Operating and serving from a place of authenticity
  • Building Sustainable Process for Repeatable Execution
  • Certified to Assess Personal Resilience and Change Effectiveness
  • Customized Training
  • Meeting Facilitation

Jesse H. Jones

Forrest Firms Law

jesse@forrestfirm.com

Services:

  • Company Formation and Securities
  • Intellectual Property
  • Commercial Real Estate
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Contract Negotiation, Drafting, and Review
  • Employment
  • Contract Dispute and Resolution

Lisa Leath

Leath Consulting Group

lisa@leathconsultinggroup.com

Services:

  • Recruiting
  • Onboarding
  • Performance management
  • Training
  • Leadership development
  • Engagement
  • Growth preparation
  • Total rewards
  • Compliance
  • 3rd-party assessment of talent and structure
  • Community outreach
  • Linkage with strategic partners

Corey Lewis

Cape Fear Jobs

corey@capefearjobs.com

How to Hire Talent More Effectively:

  • Job Description Writing
  • Reading Resumes
  • Where to Find Talent
  • Interviewing Candidates
  • Pay Scale Competitiveness
  • Effective Recruiting Strategies 

Job Seeker Services Also Available:

  • Resume Services
  • Interview Training
  • Job Coaching

Bruce Mancinelli

Extensive background with start-ups

bmancinelli@liadan.net

Services:

  • Organizational Development
  • Sales and Marketing Organization
  • Capital/Venture Funding Activities
  • Merger and Acquisitions Activities
  • Goal Setting and Sales Achievement
  • Communication and Corporate Representation
  • Strategic Planning and Competitive Analysis

Dave Menzies

Innovative Public Relations

innovativeprnc@gmail.com

Services:

  • Do-It-Yourself PR
  • Media Relations (getting in front of reporters)
  • Strategic Messaging
  • Audience Targeting
  • Buzz Building

David Morrison

DF Morrison Consulting

dfmorrisonconsulting@gmail.com

Services:

  • Strategic Business Planning (Is a nonprofit right for YOU?)
  • Nonprofit Formation
  • Capacity-Building Plans
  • Customized Trainings for New Boards*
  • Group Workshops*

*Topics and fees subject to change based on initial consultation


Ann Revell-Pechar

ann@arevell.com

919-909-1097

Services:

  • Messaging + Storytelling for you/your business
  • Public Relations – strategy and/or execution
  • Public Speaking
  • Writing/Content development
  • Finding key personnel needs for your business

Karl Ricanek

Faculty Entrepreneur in Residence

ricanekk@uncw.edu

Services:

  • Ideation to innovation
  • Translating research to start-up
  • Software development
  • Translating an idea into extramural research
  • How to secure funding for your research or Innovation idea
  • How to patent your research at UNCW
  • How to build a world renown research program
  • How to get money from the Dept. of Defense for your research idea


Sam Schey

Live Oak Bank

SamSchey@gmail.com

Services:

  • Avionics Technician/Instructor
  • US Marine Corps Defense Contract Work
  • Boeing Product Manager
  • Live Oak Bank

Don Spry

US Small Business Administration

Senior Area Manager

don.spry@sba.gov

Services:

  • Working Capital Financing (7A)
  • Commercial Real Estate Financing (504)
  • Federal Government Contracting Programs
  • Federal Government Research Grants (SBIR/STTR)
  • Small Business Resource Counseling
  • Small Business Instruction and Training

Anna Tharrington

Hutchinson Law Firm

atharrington@hutchlaw.com

Services: 

  • Corporate
  • Venture Capital & Private Equity
  • Options & Equity Compensation
  • Employment Law, Benefits & Compensation
  • Equity & Debt
  • IP Protection
  • Licensing & Corporate Partnering
  • Mergers & Acquisitions
  • Securities
  • Real Estate
  • Tax

Seahawk Innovation

Brendan Collins

brendan@mimijumi.com

  • Start Up to Scale Up
  • Strategy Financing
  • Execution and Leadership

Lauren Fuhrer

lauren@mimijumi.com

  • Sourcing Resources
    • People
    • Software
    • Know How
  • Product Management
    • Developing/Managing the Process

Tobin Geatz

tobin@seahawk.biz

  • Business Model Identification
  • Development and Brainstorming
  • Mastering your Pitch
  • Testing your Business Plan