Earth and Ocean Sciences

Faculty & Student News

Posted 1/3/2017

Dr. Scott Nooner receives media attention for his recent research on the Axial Seamount

  • National Geographic Underwater Volcano Offers Rare Look at Eruption in Real Time (article)
  • Popular Science Scientists watch an undersea volcano shake, rattle, and inflate (article)
  • Live Science 'Mic'd Up' Underwater Volcano Offers Unique Glimpse of Submarine Eruptions (article)

Posted 12/16/2016

Dr. Scott Nooner publishes his recent research on the Axial Seamount in Science Magazine 

  • Inflation-predictable behavior and co-eruption deformation at Axial Seamount Science (more)
  • Underwater network gives scientists a rare glimpse into deep-sea volcanoes  Science (more)
  • American Geophysical Union FM16 Press Conference: First results from Axial Seamount, an active underwater volcano  (video) (slides)
  • Sensor Deployment (video)

Posted 11/18/2016

Three EOS undergraduate students, Sydney Bohn, Evan Hill and Derek Detwelier  were recently published in Explorations: The Journal of Undergraduate Research and Creative Activities for the State of North Carolina

Sydney Bohn and Evan Hill, Faculty Advisor Dr. Narcisa Pricope
Sea Level Rise Hazard Assessment for New Hanover County, North Carolina (pdf)

Derek Detwelier, Faculty Advisor Dr. Ai Ning Loh
An in situ study of seasonal dissolved organic carbon and nutrient fluxes from a Spartina alterniflora salt marsh in North Carolina, USA (pdf)

Explorations is the only state undergraduate journal that features work from both public and private colleges and universities. It celebrates the ingenuity, creativity and engaged learning being undertaken by undergraduates throughout the state.  Volume XI of Explorations features one creative work and sixteen research articles, including one in French. Topics range from engineering to history, from marine science to social sciences. Articles were selected from 24 submissions from students at twelve different colleges and universities in North Carolina.  Each submission was reviewed by two to three volunteer faculty reviewers from across the state. The final volume represents the work of 26 students and 16 faculty mentors at eleven colleges and universities.  Explorations is housed and published at UNC Wilmington. In addition a print publication, there is also a website for the journal at  This site houses an archive as well as featuring the current issue.

Posted 11/1/2016


Left to Right: Randy Bechtel, Awards Coordinator, NC Geological Survey;
Roger Shew 2016 NC Outstanding Earth Science Educator Award Winner.

UNC-Wilmington lecturer Roger Shew has been recognized as North Carolina’s Outstanding Earth Science Educator for 2016. The award was presented Oct. 20 at the annual N.C. Science Teachers Association Professional Development Institute in Greensboro. Nominees for the award are judged on their teaching ability, inventiveness, initiative, strengths and community involvement. In selecting Shew as the winner, judges noted his exceptional ability to communicate science-based information to a wide variety of audiences, including K-12 students, educators, community organizations and college students.

The annual award is sponsored by the N.C. Geological Survey, the Carolina Section of the Association of Environmental and Engineering Geologists, the N.C. Aggregates Association and the Carolinas Section of the Society for Mining and Metallurgical Exploration. For more information, please contact Randy Bechtel 919-707-9204 or

Posted 9/15/2016

Audrey Taylor, B.A. Geography candidate, was selected as one of four Portz Scholars in the National Collegiate Honors Council (NCHC) competition for outstanding undergraduate Honors paper. Her paper, Molecular and Isotopic Proxies of Mid-Holocene Hydroclimate and Paleoenvironmental Change in a Coastal Wetland: Praia Rei Cortiço, Portugal, was advised by Dr. Mike Benedetti and her laboratory work was completed under the supervision of Dr. Chad Lane at the Center for Marine Science. She will present her thesis research and accept the award at the October conference of the NCHC in Seattle, WA. Audrey is also the recipient of a NOAA Hollings Scholarship, and a UNCW Board of Visitors Undergraduate Research Fellowship.

2016 Portz Scholars            Audrey's UNCW Applied Learning Gallery profile

Posted 2/20/2016
Dr. Doug Gamble won the Southeastern Division of the Association of American Geographers' (SEDAAG) 2015 Outstanding Service Award. SEDAAG is a regional subdivision of the Association of American Geographers, representing approximately 500 members in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia. Established in 1947, SEDAAG exists to advance investigations in geography and to encourage the application of geographic findings in education, government, and business. The SEDAAG Outstanding Service Award recognizes (1) Evidence of exceptional professional commitment to geography at any level, including service to professional organizations; colleges and universities; primary and secondary education; local, state, or national government; private business and industry; (2) Examples of worthy contributions include but are not limited to appointed or elected professional offices, journal editorships, professional organization committees, speaking or otherwise providing leadership in a variety of public forums, and publication in the popular press. Dr. Gamble has been a member of SEDAAG since 1991, having attended over 20 annual meetings, published in the Southeastern Geographer (SEDAAG's journal) and served on its editorial board, elected North Carolina State Representative, Secretary, Regional Councilor, President, and Past President, and won the 2009 SEDAAG Excellence in Teaching Award.

Past News

Sigma Gamma Epsilon - Theta Kappa Chapter inducts founding members (more)

Dr. Patricia Kelley was recently recognized with the nation's highest undergraduate teaching honor. 

Joining Forces to Help Troubled Creeks, Collaborative rain garden construction featuring Roger Shew 

Archived Faculty & Student News