Writers’ Week

2018 Participating Writers


Buckner Keynote Speaker—Camille T. Dungy

CD Camille T. Dungy is the author of four collections of poetry, most recently Trophic Cascade (Wesleyan UP, 2017), winner of the Colorado Book Award, and the essay collection Guidebook to Relative Strangers: Journeys into Race, Motherhood, and History (W.W. Norton, 2017), a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award. She has edited anthologies including Black Nature: Four Centuries of African American Nature Poetry. Her honors include NEA Fellowships in poetry (2003) and prose (2018), an American Book Award, two Northern California Book Awards, two NAACP Image Award nominations, and two Hurston/Wright Legacy Award nominations. Her poems have been published in Best American Poetry, The 100 Best African American Poems, and more than thirty other anthologies. She is a professor at Colorado State University.



 Visiting Authors

MLC May-lee Chai is the author of nine books of fiction and nonfiction and one book-length translation from Chinese to English of the 1934 Autobiography of Ba Jin. Her new short story collection, Useful Phrases for Immigrants, won the Bakwin Award for Writing by a Woman (judged by novelist Tayari Jones, author of An American Marriage). Her writing has been awarded a National Endowment for the Arts fellowship, Jack Dyer Fiction Prize, Kiriyama Prize Notable Book, Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature, and honorable mention for the Gustavus Myers Center for the Study of Bigotry and Human Rights Book Awards.
CLC Cortney Lamar Charleston is the author of Telepathologies, selected by D.A. Powell for the 2016 Saturnalia Books Poetry Prize. He was awarded a 2017 Ruth Lilly and Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Fellowship from the Poetry Foundation, and he has also received fellowships from Cave Canem, The Conversation Literary Festival, and the New Jersey State Council on the Arts. Winner of a Pushcart Prize, his poems have appeared in Poetry, the American Poetry Review, New England Review, AGNI, Granta, and elsewhere. He serves as a poetry editor at the Rumpus.
SD Sayantani Dasgupta is the author of Fire Girl: Essays on India, America, & the In-Between—a finalist for the 2016 Foreword Indies awards—and the chapbook The House of Nails: Memories of a New Delhi Childhood. Her essays and stories have appeared in the RumpusPhoebe, and Gulf Stream, among other magazines and literary journals. Honors include a Pushcart Prize­ Special Mention and a Centrum Fellowship. Besides the U.S., Sayantani has also taught creative writing in India, Italy, and Mexico.
MD Meg Day is the 2015–2016 recipient of the Amy Lowell Poetry Travelling Scholarship, a 2013 recipient of an NEA Fellowship in Poetry, and the author of Last Psalm at Sea Level (Barrow Street 2014), winner of the Barrow Street Poetry Prize and the Publishing Triangle’s Audre Lorde Award, and a finalist for the 2016 Kate Tufts Discovery Award from Claremont Graduate University. Day is Assistant Professor of English & Creative Writing at Franklin & Marshall College and lives in Lancaster, PA.
TJ Toni Jensen is the author of a short story collection, From the Hilltop, and a memoir-in-essays about gun violence, Carry, forthcoming from Ballantine. Her stories and essays have been published in journals such as OrionCatapult, and Ecotone. She’s been a finalist for the Story Prize and is the recipient of the Katherine Anne Porter Prize for Fiction and the Gary Wilson Short Fiction Award. She teaches in the Programs in Creative Writing and Translation at the University of Arkansas and in the low residency MFA Program at the Institute of American Indian Arts. She is Métis.
JT Formerly a park ranger, factory worker, and seller of cemetery plots, Joni Tevis is the author of two books of essays, The Wet Collection: A Field Guide to Iridescence and Memory, and The World Is On Fire: Scrap, Treasure, and Songs of Apocalypse, both published by Milkweed Editions. Her essays have appeared in Orion, the Southern ReviewPoets & Writers, the Pushcart Prize anthology, and elsewhere. She serves as the Bennette E. Geer Associate Professor of English at Furman University in Greenville, South Carolina, and is at work on a new book of nonfiction about music, destruction, and iconic American landscapes.


Visiting Agents, Editors & Publishing Professionals

Samantha Shea joined Georges Borchardt, Inc. in 2010 and was made a vice president in 2016. Her list includes literary fiction, memoir, narrative nonfiction, journalism, essays, cultural criticism, and history. Samantha’s authors are regularly named for numerous awards and honors, including the “5 Under 35” honor from the National Book Foundation, the Rona Jaffe Prize, the NYPL’s Young Lions Fiction Award, the “Best of Young American Novelists” honor from Granta magazine, the Kirkus Prize, the National Book Critics Circle Awards, the PEN/ Robert W. Bingham Prize, and others. She represents writers Lesley Nneka Arimah, Amy Butcher, Jane Delury, Camille Dungy, Lydia Fitzpatrick, Greg Jackson, Casey Michel, Angela Pelster-Wiebe, Rahna Reiko Rizzuto, Shruti Swamy, Novuyo Tshuma, and Jenny Zhang, among others.


Alumni Panel Guests