Sponsored Programs & Research Compliance

Award image

Charles L. Cahill Grants 

Fiscal Year 2022 Recipients

Funded Charles L. Cahill proposals consisted of 14 traditional and 2 collaborative applications. 

Thank you to the Faculty Senate Research Committee for reviewing these applications.

  • Sasha N. Canan, (School of Health & Applied Human Sciences), “Creating a Scale that Measures Attitudes Toward Comprehensive Sex Education: A 6-Step Psychometric Process”
  • Thomas A. Cariveau, (Psychology), “Developing a measure of working memory in minimally verbal children with autism”
  • Timothy V. Daniels, (Physics & Physical Oceanography), “Design and Assembly of a Beam-Entrace Window for Online Ba-Tagging Tests”
  • Christopher S. Elliott, (Sociology & Criminology), “Job Quality Measurement in the Craft Beer Labor Force of Wilmington, North Carolina”
  • Douglas Engelman, (Sociology & Criminology), “Making Our Classrooms Relevant Through Reflective Practices in Teaching Sociology (RPTS)”
  • Nadine Gibson, (Public & International Affairs), “Student Voting Habits in Light of COVID-19 Disruptions”
  • Sarah Hallenbeck, (English), “Archival Research Trip for Embodying Twentieth-Century American Rhetorics of Innovation”
  • Michaela Howells (Anthropology), “Does Maternal Marital Status Impact Stress Among Pregnant Women? A Pilot Study In Preparation for the Effects of Natural Disasters in South Eastern North Carolina”
  • Mariana Johnson, (Film Studies), “Rerouting Early Latin American Cinema: New Histories of Film Exchange in Cuba, Mexico, and the U.S.”
  • Aaron S. King, (Public & International Affairs), “Public Facing Political Science: Strengthening the Relationship between Academics, the Media, and Civic Society”
  • Shannon A. Klotsko, (Earth & Ocean Sciences), “Examining the evolution of submerged paleolandscapes on the Oregon continental shelf with sediment cores”
  • Chad S. Lane, (Earth & Ocean Sciences), “Assessing Potential Errors in Carbon Cycling Estimates due to Variable Biosynthetic Fractionation of Radiocarbon (14C) by Vascular Plants”
  • Lilit  Martirosyan, (Mathematics & Statistics), “Symmetry and duality in mathematics”
  • Symphony D. Oxendine, (Educational Leadership), Carol McNulty (Early Childhood, Elementary, Middle, Literacy, and Special Education), “Scholar’s Opportunity for Academic Research (SOAR) Retreat”
  • Ruthanne Palumbo, (School of Nursing), Brandy Mechling (School of Nursing), Nancy Ahern (School of Nursing), “Emergency Department Discharge Planning and Education Procedures for Patients Presenting with Illicit Drug Overdose”
  • Zhangping Wei, (Physics & Physical Oceanography), “Development of a 3D coastal modeling system for the Cape Fear Estuary”

Recipients by Fiscal Year