School of Nursing

Advisory Groups

Nurse Advocate Board


The Board's purpose is to ensure that the UNCW School of Nursing remains the southeastern region's leader in nursing education. The Board will advocate for and increase public awareness and support for the SON through a variety of strategies and venues, including:

  • Raising the profile and respect for the SON's academic programs
  • Informing key stakeholders of the SON's ongoing contributions to improving health care in the southeastern North Carolina region
  • Advocating for state, regional, and federal resouces to enable the School of Nursing to advance its mission, vision, and strategic initiatives
  • Assisting the SON in identifying and cultivating sources of philanthropic support for nursing students, faculty development and scholarship, community outreach programs, and global health initiatives
  • Promoting SON programs and projects


The Board was established to promote a dedicated group of community leaders whose primary focus is to support the mission of the UNCW School of Nursing through advocacy. There are no specific term-limits and members are encouraged to continue to serve as many years as desired and/or mutually agreed. The SON will collect demographic profiles of new and continuing Board members and welcomes recommendations for membership.
The Board members meet with the SON administrative team, designated faculty, and staff in September, November, February and April. The Board is also invited to special events, e.g., nursing celebrations, graduations, research seminars and conferences, and community outreach activities.

Nurse Advocate Board Members

Mr. & Mrs. Joseph Augustine

(Joe & Carolyn)

Dr. Merrill Holden
Ms. Dorothy Bishop Mr. Joseph King
Ms. Mary Ellen Bonczek Ms. Derma Lambert
Ms. Ann Brown Ms. Roxana Miller
Ms. Lolita Bryant Ms. Anne Murchison
Ms. Janet Burkholder Ms. Lillian Newton
Ms. Beth Chadwick Dr. Susan Pierce
Dr. J. Richard Corbett Ms. Margaret Rorison
Ms. Lee Garrett

Ms. Lillian Smith

Ms. Karen Gibson

Dr. & Mrs. Wayne Varner

(Wayne & Becky)

Dr. Bettie Glenn

Community Advisory Council


  • Provides advice and counsel to the Director of the School of Nursing on issues related to current nursing practice, including quality of care and patient safety
  • Promotes enhanced communication regarding health care among nursing practice, nursing education, and the community
  • Provides advice/recommendations in the development of existing and future curriculum content
  • Provides guidance in the preparation of graduates who are qualified to provide quality health care to diverse populations in a variety of roles and settings in a changing health care environment
  • Identifies potential collaborative opportunities between the UNCW School of Nursing and the broader health care community

The Advisory Board includes nursing representatives from clinical and community agencies that the UNCW School of Nursing partners with in acheiving its mission and strategic goals.

Community Advisory Council Members
Community Members

Angie Bertsch

Brunswick County Health Department

Cindy Edgell

Cornelia Nixon Davie Health Care Center

Beth Elmore

Coastal Carolina Community College

Saralyn Gillikin

South East Area Health Education Center

Cindy Simmons Glen

Brunswick County Health Department

Brenda Holland

Cape Fear Community College

Carol Northup

Dosher Memorial Hospital

Karen Pleva

New Hanover Regional Medical Center

Tracy Sobiesienski

Onslow Memorial Hospital

Shirley Steele

Pender County Health Department

Carla Turner

New Hanover County Health Department