University Planning

University Planning and Quality Council


September 20, 2011

Members Present: Chancellor Gary Miller, Dr. Cathy Barlow, Ms. Pat Leonard, Dr. David Cordle, Dr. Kenneth Teitelbaum, Dr. Tom Barth, Dr. Steve McFarland, Dr. Nelson Reid, Dr. Charlie Hardy, Dr. Robert Roer, Mr. Larry Clark, Dr. Gabriel Lugo, Mr. Mark Lanier, Mr. Charlies Maimone, Ms. Amy Ramsey, Dr. Kae Livsey, Dr. Peter Schuhmann, and Dr. Susan McCaffrey.

Others Attending: Dr. Brian Victor, Dr. Terry Curran, Ms. Lisa Castellino, Dr. Martin Posey, Dr. Johnson Akinleye, Dr. Rick Whitfield, Dr. Mike Walker, Dr. Andrew Mauk, Ms. Dana Harris, Ms. Leah Kraus, and Ms. Sharon Boyd.

Chancellor Miller called the meeting to order at 2:00 P.M.

The minutes of the May 10, 2011 meeting were approved as posted on the web.

  1. Dr. McFarland presented an overview of UNCW's proposed 2011 official peer institutions (PDF of presentation).

  2. Chancellor Miller provided a vision for innovation at UNCW, including a structure to replace the Planning and Quality Council. Two innovation groups will be established to insert innovations into the budget process, create business plans for every innovation, help the community to understand the process of disruptive innovations, and to increase the amount of reallocatable resources available for reinvestment in innovation efforts.

New Business--none

The meeting adjourned at 2:40 P.M.

Return to Planning Minutes Homepage

Last updated: 09/20/2011