University Planning

University Planning and Quality Council


April 5, 2004

Members Present: Chancellor Rosemary DePaolo, Dr. Paul Hosier, Dr. Robert Tyndall, Ms. Pat Leonard, Ms. Mary Gornto, Dr. Jo Ann Seiple, Mr. Lawrence Clark, Dr. Eleanor Wright (for Dr. Cathy Barlow), Dr. Virginia Adams, Dr. Sue McCaffray, Dr. Carol Pilgrim and Mr. Robert S. Russell.

Others Attending: Mr. Max Allen, Dr. Raymond Burt, Ms. Mimi Cunningham, Ms. Nikki Howard, Mr. Mark Lanier and Dr. Kenneth Spackman.

In anticipation of Chancellor DePaolo's imminent arrival, and with a quorum present, Provost Hosier called the meeting to order at 3:35 pm.

The minutes of the March 24, 2004, meeting were approved as distributed on the Web.

The Council considered changes in the draft strategic plan proposed by the working group (Tyndall, Core, Pilgrim, Lanier, Allen and Spackman), and twenty suggestions submitted by faculty and staff in response to a call for additional feedback during the week prior to this meeting. A number of perfecting changes were adopted by consensus. Dr. McCaffray moved, and Dr. Adams seconded, that the Council adopt the strategic planning document as amended. The motion carried unanimously.

Chancellor DePaolo and Provost Hosier remarked that this was an historic moment in strategic planning at UNCW. At Dean Clark's suggestion, the Council gave Dr. Spackman a round of applause for his efforts in support of planning during the past year.

The Council agreed to seek endorsement of the strategic plan by the Faculty Senate at its April 20 meeting, and by the Board of Trustees at its April 29-30 meeting. During the period May through July, work will continue toward the development of targets, strategies, priorities and resource requirements to complete the strategic plan.

There was no new business.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:20 pm.

Future Meetings

Return to Planning Minutes Homepage

Last Updated: April 16, 2004