Watson Chronicle


Watson College News

Watson College Graduates Honored as NHCS Educators of the Year

Tuesday, May 04, 2021

Abbey Nobles '14 has been selected as New Hanover County Schools’ 2021-22 Overall Educator of the Year. Nobles is an English teacher at New Hanover High School.

Other 2020-21 honorees are four-time UNCW graduate Edith Skipper ’93, ’00M, ’07M, ’13 Ed.D, Principal of the Year, Courtney Malahias ’88, Elementary Educator of the Year and Shannon Mitchell, Middle School Educator of the Year. Skipper is principal at Southeast Area Technical High School (SEA-Tech), Malahias teaches first grade at Snipes Academy of Arts and Design and Mitchell teaches seventh grade at Roland Grise Middle School.

New Hanover County Schools announced the awards May 21 on Facebook Live with a Publisher Clearing House-style event. NHCS also created a YouTube video to honor the winners. Other UNCW alumni honored this year in New Hanover County are:

  • Cyndy Bliss ’04M, Myrtle Grove Middle School (principal)
  • Dawn Allan ’01, Holly Shelter Middle School
  • Ashley Atkinson ’12, Blair Elementary
  • Katherine Balderson ’12 Johnson Pre-K
  • Kimberly Bassano ’94 Mary Washington Howe Pre-K
  • Megan Burley ’06, Castle Hayne Elementary
  • Brittany Casailinova ’11, Lake Forest Academy
  • Krista Cotton ’96, ’99M, Laney High School
  • Ali Cray ’14, Noble Middle School
  • Blair Deen ’05, Hoggard High School
  • Katy Durkin ’99, Murrayville Elementary
  • Lauren Flanagan ’01, College Road Early Childhood Center
  • Sharon Gagnon ’00, Ogden Elementary
  • Amanda Hackler ’96, ’16M, College Park Elementary
  • Pamela Highsmith ’95, ’06M, Ashley High School
  • Don Hill ’97, ’99M, ’06M, J.C. Roe Center
  • Caitlin Hunter ’13, Pine Valley Elementary
  • Catherine Imperial ’94M, ’01M, Coddington Elementary
  • Sydney Kong ’15, International School at Gregory
  • Wendy McNeil ’98, ’05M, Sunset Park
  • Mary Beth Moore ’90, ’92M, Winter Park
  • Gretchen Parker ’89, Porter’s Neck Elementary
  • Lindsey Reiner ’02, ’10M, Eaton Elementary
  • Cyrus Taylor ’15, Isaac Bear Early College High School
  • Susan Tucker ’96, Myrtle Grove Middle School
  • Ashley Wall ’12, SEA-Tech
  • Jessica Wells ’98, Murray Middle School

Earlier this year, Abbey Emerson ’19 was named New Hanover County Schools’ 2021 “Rookie of the Year.” Emerson earned a degree in elementary education from the Watson College. She currently teaches first grade at Carolina Beach Elementary School.

Media Coverage

WECT, May 21 New Hanover County Schools recognizes excellence in educators