Watson Chronicle


Watson College News

Watson College Recognitions

Wednesday, November 01, 2017

JoAn Shaw received the 2017 Roy E. Harkin Part-Time Faculty Service Award in recognition of her outstanding contributions to the Watson College.

Shaw taught at Sunset Park Elementary School for 30 years before joining WCE as a lecturer and intern supervisor. The award, established to honor the first dean of the Watson College who actively recruited part-time personnel to assist the faculty, was presented at the WCE Holiday luncheon on Dec. 1. 

Donna DeGennaro was selected as a 2017 WILMA Women to Watch Award winner. The award was presented at a reception at the Hilton Wilmington Riverside on Oct. 13. DeGennaro is a faculty member in WCE’s Department of Educational Leadership. She began the nonprofit Unlocking Silent Histories in 2012 to give indigenous youth a vehicle to express themselves by making cultural documentaries. She worked with Maya youth in Guatemala to develop a model addressing the digital divide, culturally responsive learning and social justice education.

DeGennaro was featured in a UNCW home page story on Oct. 18.

Dean Heath is the new Recruitment Specialist for the Watson College. Dean is a native of southeastern North Carolina. He earned a B.S. in business administration/marketing from UNCW before starting his career in higher education at Cape Fear Community College in the Office of Admissions. Dean returned to UNCW as part of the first cohort of higher education students at the Watson College, and earned his M.Ed. in 2014. When he is not working, you will find Dean spending time with his family, watching sports or movies, or teaching Hapkido. Stop by and visit Dean in the Office of Student Advising and Integrated Leadership (SAIL) or contact him at heatht@uncw.edu.

Faculty and Staff Recognized by Graduates

Watson College faculty and staff attended a reception to honor individuals recognized by graduating students as having made a difference in their lives! The reception was held Dec. 1 in the Burney Center.

(l-r): Edel Segovia, Centro Hispano; Amy Garrett Dikkers, Donyell Roseboro, Michele Parker, Marsha Carr, Ann Potts, Heidi Higgins, M.J Giammaria, Gerry Zinner, Katie Schlichting, Kerri Fowler, Jeanne Swafford, Nicole Geczi, Lynn Sikma and Somer Lewis. 

Faculty News

Amy Garrett Dikkers and Denise Ousley-Exum are recipients of the Stike Education Lab Faculty-Student Research Award for their research project, "Representations of immigrants, refugees and displaced children and youth.” Garrett Dikkers will work with an undergraduate student to survey the collection for books and other materials that represent these issues described in the title. Ousley will attend NCTE and focus her efforts on identifying new and emerging trends/titles that represent these issues. The team will make recommendations for additions to the Ed Lab collection.

George Kamberelis is recipient of the Stike Education Lab Faculty-Student Research Award for his research project, “Interest-Based, Purpose-Driven, Responsive Tutoring.” Kamberelis will intensively coach undergraduate students who are tutoring in the Ed Lab to re-imagine “tutoring as a dialogic activity in which both the tutor and the tutee engage in struggle, ask questions, seek answers to those questions, and work to attune their growth and development.” Potential impact of the project is the reformulation/reiteration of the course/lab connections across courses that use the Education Lab.

Maurice Martinez’s documentary “The New Orleans Creole” was shown in Atlanta in October. Martinez was featured in an article in The Georgia Sentinel on Oct. 29.

Denise Ousley-Exum and Brian Brinkley authored an article titled Stepping Stones to Advocacy. The article shares the perspectives of a preservice teacher and two teacher educators as they learn, through relationship and reflection, how to amplify and advocate for student voice. The article was published in the journal Language Arts in September.

Symphony Oxendine was selected to participate in the Early Career Faculty Workshop sponsored by CAHEP.  Approximately 15 faculty members and deans from around the country participated in the three panels on crafting a scholarly agenda with integrity and purpose, teaching higher education courses, as well as promotion and tenure issues.  The event was held Nov. 8 in Houston, Texas.

William Sterrett’s book Short on Time: How do I make time to lead and learn as a principal? was named an ASCD Best Seller. An article authored by Sterrett, How to Make the Most of Your Time as Principal, was published in EdWeek on Nov. 14.

Alumni News

Mandi Campbell ’04 is Kannapolis City Schools’ 2017-18 Principal of the Year. Campbell is principal at Fred L. Wilson Elementary School. She was featured in a story in the Independent Tribune on Sept. 21.

Caitlin Fischetti ’10, ’16M and Brett Hall ’09, ’17M were featured in a story in the StarNews on Sept. 24: Eaton pupils raise $3,600 for hurricane victims. Fischetti teaches first grade and Hall teaches third grade at Eaton Elementary School in Wilmington. 

Tim Foster ’91 has been named Onslow County Schools’ 2018 Principal of the Year. Foster is principal at Southwest High School. The news was announced in JDNews.com in October.

Emily Kelly 10, is 2017 Teacher of the Year at New Bridge Middle School in Onslow County! Kelly teaches 8th grade science. She was featured in a story in The Globe on Oct. 19: New Bridge Middle School science teacher aims to help students love to learn, achieve.

Jaime L. Russell ’16 Ed.D. has been selected to participate in the 2018 Alice Manicur Symposium for Women Aspiring to be Vice President of Student Affairs. Russell is director of the Office of Student Leadership and Engagement at UNCW.

For additional news from the Department of Educational Leadership, visit their homepage or Facebook