Watson Chronicle


Watson College News

Event Held to Honor 2017 Razor Walker Award Recipients

Friday, June 09, 2017

UNCW Chancellor Jose V. Sartarelli, Provost Marilyn Sheerer and WCE Dean Van Dempsey welcomed more than 250 community leaders, faculty and friends of the Watson College to the 25th annual Razor Walker Awards Ceremony at UNCW’s Burney Center April 25.

Watson College established the Razor Walker Awards in 1993 to honor individuals whose vision, tenacity, courage and sacrifice have made a difference in the lives of young people.

2017 honorees are Benjamin R. David, District Attorney for New Hanover and Pender Counties; Alan Faulk, superintendent, Columbus County Schools; Emma H. Jackson, career educator in New Hanover County Schools; community leaders Deloris and Nick Rhodes; and Mike Ward, former state superintendent of instruction and professor of educational leadership at North Carolina State University.

“Vision, tenacity, courage and sacrifice take many different forms, and are narrated in our lives in a powerful array of stories and portraits,” said Watson College Dean Van Dempsey. “This year’s Razor Walker Award winners represent the range of impacts that leaders can have in the lives of children, families, communities and across our state. They each as leaders and collectively as a chorus remind us all of the successes to be celebrated. They also inspire us to embrace the opportunities that lie within the challenges before us in the education and public service community. We are honored in the Watson College to recognize these leaders and what they have accomplished with the 2017 Razor Walker Awards.”  

More photos are available on the Watson College of Education Facebook page >