Watson Chronicle



WCE Alumni Honored as NHCS Educators of the Year

Friday, May 01, 2015

WCE Alumni Honored as NHCS Educators of the Year

Hoggard High School teacher Katie Snyder '08, '12M is New Hanover County Schools 2015-16 Teacher of the Year and Jerry Oates '95, '03M is Principal of the Year. Snyder teaches World History and Honors Psychology at Hoggard High School and is currently enrolled in the Educational Leadership doctoral program at the Watson College with a concentration in Curriculum and Instruction. Oates, who holds a bachelor's degree in History with teaching licensure and a Master of School Administration, is principal at Williston Middle School.

Another Watson College graduate, Laura Graham, is the NHCS Elementary School Teacher of the Year. Graham teaches first grade at Eaton Elementary. She completed her Master's degree in Language and Literacy at the Watson College in 2010.

Snyder, Oates, Graham and Middle School Teacher of the Year Gregory Law, a seventh grade science teacher at Trask Middle School, were honored by the New Hanover County Board of Education and the Wells Fargo Foundation at a banquet on June 9.

All of the district schools' 2015-16 Teachers of the Year were recognized at the event. Twenty-three Watson College alumni were among the honorees:

  • Peggy Bridgers '00, '04M, Ashley High (Bachelor's degree in English with Teaching Licensure; M.Ed., Secondary English)
  • Dana Brigman '95, College Rd Early Childhood Center (Elementary Education)
  • Lisa Cole '10M, Castle Hayne Elementary (M.Ed., Curriculum and Instruction)
  • Lynda Cooley '95, Mary C. Williams Elementary (Elementary Education)
  • Amy Fallon '06, '10M, Sunset Park Elementary (Elementary Education; M.Ed., Language and Literacy)
  • Laura Graham '10, Eaton Elementary (M.Ed., Language and Literacy)
  • Jamie Green '04, Laney High (Secondary English Licensure)
  • Kerri Harris '06, Howe Pre-K (Education of Young Children)
  • Maureen Hill '05, Ogden Elementary (Elementary Education)
  • Peter Hunt '08, Carolina Beach Elementary (Elementary Education Licensure)
  • Synthia Kevitz '12, Noble Middle (M.Ed., Middle Grades Education)
  • Constance Lamar '07, Winter Park Elementary (Elementary Education)
  • Pamela Mack '91, Johnson Early Childhood Center (Elementary Education Licensure)
  • Allison Munford '08, '14M, College Park Elementary (Elementary Education; M.Ed., Language and Literacy)
  • Allyson Redd '05, '14M, Roland-Grise Middle (Middle Grades Education; M.Ed., Middle Grades Education)
  • Jennifer Rosser '11, Pine Valley Elementary (M.Ed., Curriculum and Instruction)
  • Julie Saba '98M, Codington Elementary (M.Ed., Language and Literacy)
  • Katie Snyder '08, '12M, Hoggard High (Bachelor's degree in Sociology with Teaching Licensure; M.Ed, Curriculum and Instruction; enrolled in the Educational Leadership doctoral program with a specialization in Curriculum and Instruction)
  • Stacy Stone '95, Parsley Elementary (Special Education)
  • Ana Valle-Greene '09, Forest Hills Elementary (Elementary Education Licensure)
  • Joy Whitlow '94, Bradley Creek Elementary (Middle Grades Education)

Principal of the Year Nominations:

  • Dr. Jerry Oates '93, '03M, Williston Middle School (Bachelor's degree in History with Teaching Licensure; Master of School Administration)
  • Carole Piner '86, '04M, Anderson Elementary (Intermediate Education; Master of School Administration)

For a complete list of honorees visit: http://www.nhcs.net/PublicRelations/NewsReleases/eoy02.htm