Watson Chronicle


Watson College News

Watson College Recognitions

Monday, September 01, 2014


New Department Chairs and Directors Announced

  • Kathy Fox is the new chair of the Department of Early Childhood, Elementary, Middle, Literacy and Special Education (EEMLS).

  • Donyelle Roseboro is the new chair of the Department of Instructional Technology, Foundations and Secondary Education (ITFSE).

  • Somer Lewis is the new director of WCE’s Professional Development System (PDS).

  • Michele Parker, associate professor, Department of Educational Leadership (EL), was appointed interim associate director of the Center for Teaching Excellence at UNCW.

Faculty Promotions and Tenure Announcements

  • Kathy Fox, EEMLS Department chair was promoted to full professor.

  • Eleni Pappamihiel, ITFSE, was promoted to full professor.

  • Angela Housand, ITFSE, was promoted to associate professor and awarded tenure.

  • Allison Jones was re-appointed assistant professor, EEMLS

Faculty Awards and Recognitions

  • Salena Rabidoux, technology liaison, WCE Dean’s Office, was awarded the university’s 2014 Excellence in e-Learning Award.

  • Eleni Pappamihiel, professor, IFTSE, received the university’s prestigious Distinguished Scholarly Engagement and Public Service Award.

  • Amy Taylor, associate professor, EEMLS, received a 2014 Chancellor’s Teaching Excellence Award.


Staff News

  • Caitlin Case has joined Youth Programs as registration and communications specialist.

  • Kimberly Cockrell is the new Youth Programs budget manager.

  • Nicole Geczi is the new administrative associate in the Dean’s Office.

  • Elise Mullaney is director of development for the Watson College, a new position in UNCW’s Office of University Advancement.

  • Logan Sidbury is intern and licensure coordinator on the Professional Experiences Team in the Office of Teacher Education and Outreach.

  • LeAnne Smith is a new academic advisor in the Watson College.

Awards and Recognitions

  • Lisa Hunt, administrative associate, received a Kudos Award from human resources for exemplary service to the Watson College through her work in the Office of Educational Leadership. This is Hunt’s second Kudos Award.

  • Jan Siko, executive assistant in the Dean’s Office, also received a Kudos Award. She was nominated by Dean Kenneth Teitelbaum for her outstanding service to the Watson College. This is Siko’s second Kudos Award.


  • John Lothes, lecturer in the psychology department at UNCW and doctoral student at the Watson College, authored “The Effects of a DBT Informed Partial Hospital Program on: Depression, Anxiety, Hopelessness and Degree of Suffering.” The article was published in the Journal of Psychology & Psychotherapy May 25, 2014.


  • Lucas Gillispie ‘08M (MIT in Instructional Technology) is director of academic and digital learning at Surry County Schools. He was formerly instructional technology coordinator for Pender County.

Congratulations to Three WCE Alumni Recently Named District Teacher of the Year!

  • Melissa Doyle ’05 (B.A., elementary education) was named 2014 Teacher of the Year for Onslow County.  She teaches third grade at Jacksonville Commons Elementary School.

  • April Kinlaw ’06 (B.A., elementary education) was named 2014-15 Teacher of the Year for Pender County.  Kinlaw teaches fifth grade at North Topsail Elementary School and is currently enrolled in the Master of School Administration program at the Watson College.

  • Meredith McCarthy Kokoski ‘08M (M.A.T. in English) was named 2014-15 Teacher of the Year for New Hanover County. Kokoski teaches English at Laney High School.