Watson Chronicle


Watson College News

Watson College Recognitions

Saturday, March 01, 2014

Watson College of Education Exterior

Lisa BuchananLisa Buchanan, assistant professor, Department of Early Childhood, Elementary, Middle, Literacy and Special Education (EEMLS), received a second Going Local grant from the North Carolina Farm Bureau in January. The New Hanover County Farm Bureau Board honored Buchanan for her work promoting the importance of agriculture in area schools at a luncheon Feb. 3.

Florence MartinFlorence Martin, associate professor and instructional technology program coordinator, attended the North Carolina Technology in Education Society conference in Raleigh March 5-7, to promote WCE’s Master of Technology Program and new Online Teaching and Learning Certificate program.

Maurice MartinezProfessor Maurice Martinez’s documentary, “The Piano Entertainer: Stompin’ Geraldo Frazier” won second place in the N.C. Black Film Festival’s documentary category. A second documentary, “Irene,” was also selected for screening at this year’s festival. Irene is the true story of an African American woman from impoverished Pender County who attended a Rosenwald one room schoolhouse and went on to achieve success.

Deloris RhodesDeloris Rhodes, outreach liaison, Office of Teacher Education and Outreach, served on the Safer Schools Task Force of New Hanover and Pender County last fall at the request of District Attorney Ben David. Rhodes is currently serving on Governor McCrory’s Task Force on Safer Schools at the request of Chip Hughes, who serves as chairman of the task force.

Gerald Zinner, part time faculty, EEMLS, led a session on “A Multi-Disciplinary Approach to Global Citizenship” at the 37th annual South Carolina Middle School Association Conference in Myrtle Beach March 1. Zinner received recognition for a best session at the conference.

WCE Faculty Awarded Fellowships

Seventeen summer faculty fellowships were awarded by the Watson College Dean's Office to support significant research projects, course development and grant writing. Recipients of the awards are:

Lisa Buchanan, EEMLS
Marsha Carr, EL
Susan Catapano, EL
Sue-Jen Chen, ITFSE
Amy Garrett Dikkers, EL
Jeremy Hilburn, EEMLS
Scott Imig, EL
Allison Jones, EEMLS
Christine Liao, EEMLS
Mahnaz Moallem, ITFSE
Amelia Moody, EEMLS
Angela Reid Griffin, ITFSE
Kathy Roney, EEMLS
Robert Smith, ITFSE
William Sterrett, EL
Jeanne Swafford, EEMLS
Martin Wasserberg, EEMLS