Watson Chronicle


Watson College News

The Watson College Hosts Legislative Forum

Monday, November 18, 2013

a legislative forum on the state of education in North Carolina hosted by Watson College

On Oct. 17, the Watson College hosted a legislative forum on the state of education in North Carolina. The purpose of the forum was to discuss changes enacted by the N.C. General Assembly in July, and their impact on school districts, schools, teachers and students. Panelists included N.C. Reps. Ted Davis and Susi Hamilton; N.C. Sen. Thom Goolsby; Edward Pruden, superintendent for Brunswick County Schools; Julie Kowal, executive director of CarolinaCAN; and Bob Etheridge, former N.C. legislator and state superintendent of public instruction. Deloris Rhodes, outreach liaison in the Office of Teacher Outreach and Education, coordinated planning for the event and Frances Weller of WECT, Gina Gambony of UNCW and WHQR and Robert Smith of the Watson College of Education moderated discussion.

Please also see news articles resulting from discussion at the forum:

WCE Meets with New Hanover County School Board and Superintendent of Schools

New Hanover County School Board and Superintendent of Schools

Donald S. Hayes, Jeannette S. Nichols and Lisa Estep of the New Hanover County Board of Education, NHCS superintendent Tim Markley and senior NHCS administrators joined Dean Kenneth Teitelbaum and WCE faculty members Nov. 7 at an informal dinner meeting hosted by the Watson College.

The meeting began with a presentation by Donyell Roseboro, WCE Professional Development System director, on the university’s partnership with schools in New Hanover County and surrounding regions. Carol McNulty, associate dean of academic programs, provided an overview of teacher preparation programs and current enrollments. Open discussion on current trends in education followed. Much of the discussion focused on teacher recruitment and ways the groups can work together to elevate the profession and attract future teachers particularly at the middle grades and high school level. The meeting was a first for the three groups.

(L-R): Susan Finley, Scott Imig, Kimberly O’Briant, Lisa Estep, Deloris Rhodes, Tim Markley,  Jeannette S. Nichols, Donyell Roseboro, Donald S. Hayes, Kathy Fox, Dale Presley-Becton, Robert Smith, Dean Kenneth Teitelbaum and Carol McNulty