Skip to header Skip to Content Skip to Footer

Scott-Pollock Honored for Excellence

UNC Board of Governors Announces 2024 Awards for Excellence in Teaching

Julie-Ann Scott-Pollock, Communication Studies
Julie-Ann Scott-Pollock, Communication Studies
Photo: Michael Spencer/UNCW

Dr. Julie-Ann Scott-Pollock, UNCW professor of Communication Studies and Performance Studies, is one of 17 outstanding faculty members selected by the University of North Carolina Board of Governors to receive a 2024 Award for Excellence in Teaching. 

The award winners represent all 16 of North Carolina’s public universities and the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics. Recipients were nominated by special committees at each institution and selected by the Board of Governors Committee on Educational Planning, Policies, and Programs. 

“I am so honored that my colleagues and students came together to support my nomination for this award,” Scott-Pollock said. “Being chosen for this award by our fantastic leadership at UNCW is deeply affirming. As an interdisciplinary scholar, the applied-learning and performance work I do is possible due to UNCW's commitment to interdisciplinary collaboration and applied learning.” 

Since joining the UNCW faculty in 2010, Dr. Julie-Ann Scott-Pollock has excelled as a teacher and engaged scholar. She specializes in performance studies, qualitative research, film and stage directing, and creative nonfiction writing. Sharing her passion for accessible storytelling and social justice with her students and community, she is the director of three performance troupes, UNCW Storytellers, Hawk Tale Players, and Just Us: Performances for Social Justice.  

Dr. Scott-Pollock is the recipient of numerous teaching awards including a UNCW Chancellor’s Teaching Excellence Award, a UNCW Distinguished Teaching Professorship Award, and the 2019 Donald H. Ecroyd Award for Outstanding Teaching in Higher Education from the National Communication Association. She has also received numerous national awards for her published works and conference presentations.  

“These extraordinary faculty members have dedicated their lives to teaching and are committed to lifting up their students to become the next generation of leaders for North Carolina and the nation,” said UNC Board of Governors Chair Randy Ramsey. “We are grateful for their service and congratulate them on these awards.” 

Each of the winners will receive a commemorative bronze medallion and a $12,500 cash prize.