Skip to header Skip to Content Skip to Footer

UNCW Seahawks Make the Wilmington 100 List

Several UNCW Seahawks have made the Wilmington 100 list, an annual Greater Wilmington Business Journal initiative “to recognize the top 100 Power Players, Influencers, Innovators, Connectors and Rising Stars impacting Southeastern North Carolina’s business landscape.” 

Chancellor Aswani K. Volety and Edelmira Segovia, UNCW Centro Hispano director and New Hanover Community Endowment vice chair, are included in the Power Player category, which WilmingtonBiz describes as “the businesspeople and officials having the greatest impact on the region’s business and economic landscape.”

In the Influencer’s category, “the changemakers, in front of or behind the scenes,” included:

  • Rob Burrus, dean, Cameron School of Business

  • Ron Vetter, founding dean, College of Science and Engineering

  • Stephanie Caulder, founding dean, College of Humanities, Social Sciences and the Arts

  • Jack Watson, dean, College of Health and Human Services

  • Woody White, member, UNC Board of Governors, New Hanover Community Endowment and former UNCW Trustee

Yousry Sayed, a UNCW Trustee, former UNCW professor, and president and CEO of Quality Chemical Laboratories, is listed in the Innovators category, “the disruptors shaking things up and getting the region to see things in a different way.”

The Connectors category, “the real-world networkers who bring together people and resources to get things done,” included:

  • Heather McWhorter, director, Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship

  • Yolanda Pollard, director, Swain Center

  • Sheri Shaw, assistant dean for student success, College of Health and Human Services

Numerous UNCW alumni also made this year’s WilmingtonBiz 100. They are:

The Power Players

  • Jim Morton, president, Cape Fear Community College

  • Laurie Whalin, chief operating officer, Novant Health Coastal Market

The Influencers

  • Livian Jones, president, Steamline Development

  • Tony McEwen, Carolinas director, American Flood Coalition


  • Keith Holden, CEO, FOCUS Broadband

  • Jennifer & Sam McCall, co-founders, SeaTox Research

The Connectors

  • Laura Brogdon Primavera, director of programs and initiatives, Wilmington Chamber of Commerce

  • Velva Jenkins, CEO, YWCA of the Lower Cape Fear

  • JC Lyle, executive director, WARM NC

  • Chris Montero, CEO and sales director, Perfect Touch Rental

  • Tammy Proctor, interim executive director, Greater Topsail Area Chamber of Commerce and Tourism

  • Scott Satterfield, CEO, Wilmington Business Development

  • Barnes Sutton, economic/community development director, Town of Leland

  • Linda Thompson, chief diversity and equity officer, New Hanover County

  • Meade Van Pelt, director, The Harrelson Center

  • Heather Wilson, executive director, Cameron Art Museum

The Rising Stars

  • Liz Carbone, director of community engagement, Good Shepherd

  • Jessie Goodwin, executive director, Children's Museum of Wilmington

  • Daniel Jones, cultural curator, Cameron Art Museum

  • Abby Lorenzo, deputy director, Wilmington Urban Area Metropolitan Planning Organization