UNCW Celebrates Million Dollar Club Inductees and Cahill Award Winners

Thursday, April 29, 2021

As an R2: Doctoral Status With High Research Activity institution, UNCW recognizes strategic support of scholarship, innovation and research is fundamental to the institutional DNA, as emphasized in its Strategic Plan.

The James F. Merritt Million Dollar Club is a university honor and recognition for faculty and staff who have received $1 million or more in external research funding. During his nearly 34-year tenure at UNCW, Merritt procured more than $14,000,000 in grant and contracts. He started as an assistant professor of biology and marine biology, chaired the department from 1978-88 and served as director of the Center for Marine Science 1986-99.

The five most recent inductees are:
Catharina Alves de Souza, MARBIONC
Kristen DeVall, sociology and criminology
Christy Lanier, sociology and criminology
Sally MacKain, psychology
Jeanne Persuit, communication studies

“We are delighted to recognize the accomplishments of these talented faculty,” said Associate Provost for Research and Innovation Stuart Borrett. UNCW is publicly recognizing this significant accomplishment on electronic billboards around Wilmington.

Charles L. Cahill Grants for Faculty Scholarship are awarded to full-time faculty from all academic disciplines to support scholarship efforts. The funds are used to provide seed money for the initiation of projects in areas of research, scholarship or artistic endeavors. For the fiscal year 2021, there were 19 traditional individual applications and eight interdisciplinary collaborative applications. View the list of recipients here.

-- Caroline Cropp