UNCW Well-Represented on Annual YWCA Women of Achievement Nominees List

Thursday, March 04, 2021

UNCW has numerous alumnae, employees and doctoral students on the roster of nominees on YWCA’s annual Women of Achievement Awards, the signature fundraiser celebrating women leaders of the lower Cape Fear.
Sheila Boles '77 will be honored with the 2021 Lifetime Achievement Award. Boles played on the university’s first women’s basketball team and was the first recipient of a women’s basketball scholarship. UNCW retired the Athletic Hall of Famer’s jersey in 2020.
The UNCW-affiliated nominees are:
Paula Baisden, School of Nursing Faculty
Sabrina Hill-Black, Principal of D.C. Virgo Preparatory Academy
Carolyn Jenkins Blue '02M
Carolyn Fisher-Davis '88
Hannah Garner '16
Kathleen Holland, Environmental Sciences Lecturer
Amelia (Kit) Huelskamp, School of Health and Applied Human Sciences Faculty
Sue Kezios, Director of Youth Programs
Jennifer Kostyal '90
Brooke Lambert, Mohin-Scholz LGBTQIA Resource Office Coordinator
Jacquelyn Lee, School of Social Work Faculty
Helen Lewis '74
Ricki Nelson '20
Laura Pica '14, '19M
Mariko Polk '15M, '22 Ph.D. (Biology and Marine Biology)
Kayce Smith '12M
Jorey Stanley '17
Andi Steele, Art and Art History Faculty
Peyton Thomas '21 Ph.D. (Biology and Marine Biology)
Victoria Velazco '08
Nina Williams, School of Nursing Lecturer
Kyria Henry Whisenhunt, School of Health and Applied Human Sciences Part-Time Faculty
The awards ceremony will be held virtually at 6 p.m. on March 11. The full list of nominees is available here
-- Caroline Cropp