UNCW Launches Diversity and Inclusion Fellows Program

Tuesday, December 01, 2020

Twelve faculty and staff members have been selected as fellows for the Diversity and Inclusion Fellows Program established by UNCW Office of Institutional Diversity and Inclusion, in partnership with the Office of the Provost, the Division of Student Affairs, the Office of Business Affairs and the Office of General Counsel.

Fellows will collaborate with each of the offices to design programs, policies, and/or procedures that focus on cultivating inclusive partnerships or community engagement with diverse external organizations, said Donyell Roseboro, the university’s interim chief diversity officer.

“The program gives us the opportunity to extend the work while at the same time expanding our creative capacity to foster an inclusive climate at UNCW,” said Roseboro. “We have staff and faculty with a wide range of expertise in research, writing, problem-solving, academic and student services, documentary film, and photojournalism. I am thrilled to have such a diverse group joining us. It is my hope that the program will strengthen our collaborative efforts and help us to better cultivate a sense of belonging for students, faculty and staff.”

The fellows will assist the offices in addressing institutional priorities:
  • Recruitment, retention and success of diverse students, faculty and staff
  • Analyzing and expanding curricular offerings
  • Cultivating inclusive partnerships or community engagement with diverse external organizations
  • Developing policies and procedures for the reporting and addressing of bias incidents
  • Facilitating grant collaborations to support diversity and inclusion initiatives
  • Development and evaluation of innovative professional development in diversity and inclusion for students, staff and faculty
Fellows will serve for a minimum of one year and a maximum of three consecutive years. Each fellow will commit to creating a proposal that includes a timeline with clear objectives and outcomes, attending regular project meetings with divisions relevant to the fellow’s project and sharing the results of fellowship work on campus and with community organizations in a spring research and engagement forum. Selection for the program was based on an application process, interviews and feedback from a selection committee.

Faculty and staff selected as fellows are:
  • Babette Boyd, Senior Lecturer, Department of Sociology and Criminology
  • Kimberly Cook, Professor of Sociology and Criminology, Department of Sociology and Criminology
  • Melissa Crowe, Lecturer and MFA Coordinator, Department of Creative Writing
  • Teddy Howell, Residence Coordinator, Housing & Residence Life
  • Jeff Janowski, Photography Services Manager, Office of University Relations
  • Mike Jefferson, Residence Coordinator, Housing & Residence Life
  • Venita Jenkins, Content and Communication Specialist, Office of University Relations
  • Leah Mayo, Center for Healthy Communities Coordinator, College of Health and Human Services
  • Christine Pesetski, Assistant Dean of Undergraduate Studies and University College Director, University College
  • J. Randolph Jr., Associate Professor of Spanish and Education and World Language Teacher Education Coordinator, Department of World Languages and Cultures
  • Masha Shpolberg, Assistant Professor of Film Studies, Department of Film Studies
  • Taniesha Young, Freshman Admissions Coordinator, Office of Admissions
-- Venita Jenkins