UNC Board of Governors Names Recipients of the 2020 Awards for Excellence in Teaching

Wednesday, April 08, 2020

The University of North Carolina Board of Governors has selected 17 outstanding faculty members to receive the 2020 Awards for Excellence in Teaching, including Ms. Andi Steele, associate professor in UNCW's Department of Art and Art History. The recipients, who represent all 16 of North Carolina’s public universities and the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics, were nominated by special committees at each institution and selected by the Board of Governors Committee on Educational Planning, Policies, and Programs.
Established by the Board in 1993 to highlight the importance of teaching, the awards recognize the extraordinary contributions of faculty members System wide.
“It is with great pride that we honor these impressive recipients,” said UNC Board of Governors Chair Randy Ramsey. “Each of them brings a high standard of excellence in the classroom through creative teaching methods, making a real impact in how students learn.”
Each of the winners will receive a commemorative bronze medallion and a $12,500 cash prize. The award winners will be honored at each of their institutions at a future date.

Read the full release on the UNC System website.

Andi Steele