Watson College Announces 2018 Razor Walker Award Recipients

Thursday, April 05, 2018

Each year, the Watson College of Education presents the Razor Walker Awards to individuals whose vision, tenacity, courage and sacrifice have made a difference in the lives of young people. The awards, named in recognition of the “razor’s edge” that recipients walk to support education and youth, have been presented to advocates from education, government, business and community organizations since 1993.

This year, the Watson College will recognize four North Carolina leaders: Cathy L. Barlow, career educator, former UNCW provost and former dean of the Watson College; Ralph Hise, senator of the 47th District of North Carolina; Wayne L. Lofton, president and CEO of the Community Boys and Girls Club of Wilmington; and James E. McAdams, longtime principal and educational leader in New Hanover and Brunswick counties (awarded posthumously).

“The Razor Walker event is one of the highlights of the year for the Watson College,” said Watson College Dean Van Dempsey. “The ceremony provides a great evening where the Watson College and our friends come together as an education community to recognize the leadership and advocacy of people from across North Carolina whose work enhances the lives and opportunities for children. This year’s awardees are no exception, and we look forward to recognizing and celebrating their achievements.”

Read the full story on the Watson College of Education homepage.