UNCW Staff Honored for Excellence

Friday, September 15, 2017

Nate Miner, UNCW’s assistant dean for finance and resource management, has been awarded the 2017 UNCW Staff Award for Excellence.

Miner and 13 other staff members were recognized for their contributions to the campus and the community. The staff members, who represent several areas on campus, were nominated by their colleagues in the categories of Customer Service; Efficacy and Innovation; Human Relations; Outstanding State Government Service; Public Service and Safety and Heroism. Miner was recognized in the Human Relations category.

“I am honored by this recognition and am thankful to work with a phenomenal and thoughtful group of colleagues,” said Miner. “There were many deserving nominees for this award, and I am proud to have shared this experience with them.”

Miner joined UNCW in December 2008 and has served in the roles of assistant director for housing operations and assistant director for business operations. He joined the College of Health and Human Services in February 2013 as a business officer.

“The invaluable contributions and support of these individuals are what make UNCW a great institution,” said Chancellor Jose V. Sartarelli. “Not only have they excelled in their roles, but they also have made a significant impact on the university through their commitment.”

UNCW submitted several nominees, including Miner, for consideration for the Governor’s Award of Excellence, the highest honor bestowed on a state employee. The other UNCW Staff Award for Excellence nominees were:

Kristine Adams, senior web developer, Watson College of Education (Efficacy and Innovation)

Mary Browning, executive assistant, Art and Art History/Human Resources (Customer Service)

Danielle Ferrell, web support technician, Information Technology Services (Customer Service)

Johnathan Graves, application analyst, Information Technology Services (Human Relations)

Laketa Hammonds, systems specialist, Information Technology Services (Efficacy and Innovation)

Jan Limpert, travel specialist, Travel Office (Outstanding State Government Service)

Becca McConn, outreach coordinator, Counseling Center (Outstanding State Government Service)

Tara Noland, arts program specialist, Office of the Arts (Efficacy and Innovation)

Siobhan Norris, military student services specialist, Office of Military Affairs (Public Service)

Melissa Smith, scientific illustrator, Center for Marine Science (Customer Service)

Donna Treolo, administrative associate, Department of Public and International Affairs (Safety and Heroism)

Wanda Underwood, graduate school administrator, Graduate School (Customer Service)

Lolly Williams, administrative associate, Cameron School of Business (Human Relations)

Several staff award winners

Nate Miner, second from right, received the 2017 UNCW Staff Award for Excellence. He is pictured with many of the nominees.

-- Venita Jenkins