UNCW Honors Students Awarded Ernest F. Hollings Scholarship by NOAA

Tuesday, May 09, 2017

UNCW Honors students Amanda Ceroli ’19, Joshua Kraft ’19 and Hannah Whitaker ’19 have been awarded prestigious Hollings Scholarships by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.

“Our students have been consistently competitive for national fellowships like the Hollings Scholarship,” said Nathaniel Grove, assistant director of the Center for Support of Undergraduate Research and Fellowships and associate professor of chemistry. “This is a reflection not only of their dedication, enthusiasm and hard work, but also the opportunities they are provided by UNCW’s dedicated faculty and staff to engage in undergraduate research and applied learning.”  

The scholarships – awarded annually to students seeking careers in the field of oceanic or atmospheric science, research, technology or education – are named in honor of U.S. Senator Ernest F. Hollings, who was instrumental in the creation of NOAA. He represented South Carolina in the Senate from 1966 to 2005.

Hollings Scholars receive $9,500 per year for the last two years of their undergraduate career and participate in a paid internship at a NOAA facility during the summer between their junior and senior years. Recipients also have opportunities to conduct their own research, be published and attend conferences.

Ceroli is double majoring in physical oceanography and mathematics; Kraft is an environmental studies major and Whitaker is double majoring in marine biology and environmental studies.

Many UNCW students have received this esteemed award over the years. Previous UNCW Hollings Scholars have completed their internships in Miami; Key Largo; Seattle; Santa Barbara and Honolulu, among others. Excellence in teaching, scholarship and preparing students for post-graduation success are priorities as outlined in UNCW’s Strategic Plan.

-- Caroline Cropp