Abrons Student Health Center

Abrons Student Health Center Staff

Director

Sara Nimmo,MBA, 1SG(USAR Ret.), Interim Director
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-4126
nimmos@uncw.edu
 
Sara Nimmo oversees the Abrons Student Health Center which includes medical services, pharmacy, health promotion and crossroads. She is responsible for policy development and implementation, budget management, and personnel as well as helping to manage public health issues on campus.
 

Office Manager

Agnes Huang, Administrative Associate
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-4126
huanga@uncw.edu

Agnes provides support to the Director and Associate Director, as well as functioning as office manager. Agnes has been with the Student Health Center since May of 2016.

Insurance & Referral Coordinator

 

Tabitha Summerlin, Insurance and Referral Coordinator
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-7975
summerlint@uncw.edu

Tabitha is responsible for all aspects of Insurance & Referrals. She also assists Medical Records. Tabitha has been with the Student Health Center since January of 2015.

Medical Providers
Medical Director

Medical Director

Walter Laughlin, MD
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-3280
laughlinw@uncw.edu

Dr. Laughlin oversees medical care in the Student Health Center. He provides direct patient care and is the supervising physician for the Nurse practitioners and Physician Assistants at the Health Center. In addition, he serves as consultant and adviser to the University for a broad range of issues, from individual health care to community well-being. Dr. Laughlin is active with the NC Coastal Federation. Walt has been with the Student Health Center since April of 2008.

Physican

Rachel Baldwin, MD
Abrons Student Health Center
(910)962-3280
baldwinr@uncw.edu

Dr. Baldwin is a Staff physician in the Student Health Center. She provides direct patient care to students, and serves as backup for the Medical Director. Rachel has been with the Student Health Center since July of 2011.

PA

Lora Calo, PA-C
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-3280
calol@uncw.edu

Lora is a Physcian Assistant in the Student Health Center providing direct Patient care to students. Lora has been with the Student Health Center since November 2016.

PA-C

David Gearwar, PA-C
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-3280
gearward@uncw.edu

Melissa Rice

Melissa Rice, PA-C
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-3280
ricem@uncw.edu

 

Melissa Rice, PA-C, is one of two psychiatric PAs at the Student Health Center. In addition to being a PA, Melissa has a Masters Degree in Psychology and has held various job roles in the mental health field including crisis intervention specialist, case manager & behavioral health program supervisor. Melissa joined the Student Health Center staff in May 2018.

FNP

Katie Riley, FNP
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-3280
rileyk@uncw.edu

Katie is a Family Nurse Practitioner in the Student Health Center providing direct patient care to students. Katie has been with the Student Health Center since October 2017.

PA-C

Nancy Patz, PA-C
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-3280
patzn@uncw.edu


Nancy is a Physician Assistant who provides direct patient care. She especially enjoys challenging cases. Nancy graduated from UNCW with a BA in biology in 1994 and graduated from PA school at Wake Forest University in 1997 with honors. She previously worked in Internal Medicine and Family Practice. In her spare time she likes outdoor activities including backpacking, kayaking and running. Nancy has been with the Student Health Center since February of 2002.

Taylor Thompson

Taylor Thompson, PA-C
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-3280
thompsonte@uncw.edu

PA-C Psyc

Melissa Ulstad, PA-C
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-3280
ulstadm@uncw.edu

Melissa is a Physician Assistant and is certified in general practice with a specialty certification in psychiatry. She diagnoses and treats physical and mental health issues that affect the mind and body placing an emphasis on patient education, prevention and wellness. Melissa has been with the Student Health Center since February of 2012.

Nurses
Kathleen Bednarz

Lead Registered Nurse

Kathleen Bednarz, BSN
 Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-3280
bednarzk@uncw.edu

BSN

Becky Buckley, BSN
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-3280
buckleyr@uncw.edu

Becky has been a Registered Nurse for 17 years. She previously worked in critical care, occupational health and pediatrics. She is very excited to be working with UNCW students and loves living in coastal North Carolina. Becky has been with the Student Health Center since July of 2014.

BSN

June Gerken, BSN, RN
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-3280
gerkenj@uncw.edu

Vacant
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-3280
holte@uncw.edu

RN

Sarah Mylott, RN
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-3280
mylotts@uncw.edu

Bridget Phillips BSN RN

Bridget Phillips, BSN, RN
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-3280
Phillipsbk@uncw.edu



Medical Records
Cassie Barker

Cassie Barker, Medical Records Associate
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-3280

barkerc@uncw.edu

Cassie is responsible for all aspects of medical records from scheduling and checking in student appointments, answering the telephone, maintaining the patient charts and assisting the students with immunization and insurance requirements. Cassie has been with the Student Health Center since January of 2013.

Vacant
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-3280

luzan@uncw.edu

 

 

Medical Record

Allen Wilson, 
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-3280

wilsonad@uncw.edu

Allen is responsible for all aspects of medical records from scheduling and checking in student appointments, answering the telephone, maintaining the patient charts and assisting the students with immunization requirements

Medical Record

Pam Ward, Medical Records Associate
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-3280
wardp@uncw.edu


Pam is responsible for all aspects of medical records from scheduling and checking in student appointments, answering the telephone, maintaining the patient charts and assisting the students with immunization and insurance requirements. Pam has been with the Student Health Center since December of 2010.

Pharmacy
Pharmacy Manager

Pharmacy Manager

Heidi Gierie, PharmD
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-3016
gierief@uncw.edu

Dr. Gierie manages the Pharmacy. She dispenses medication on prescriptions from off campus prescribers, as well as Student Health Service providers. Each encounter with a student is used as an opportunity to counsel and educate. Advice is also given on over-the counter drug selection and usage. Heidi has been with the Student Health Center since October of 2010.

Pharmacy Tech

Lynn Blanchard, Pharmacy Technician
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-3016
blanchardl@uncw.edu

Lynn assists the pharmacist in all aspects of dispensing, inventory control, and daily accounting procedures, as well as acting as a cashier for the Student Health Center. Lynn has been with the Student Health Center since September of 2007.

Lab
LabTech

Kayla Tolson, MLT
Abrons Student Health Center
(910) 962-3064
tolsonk@uncw.edu

Kayla is responsible for all phases of clinical laboratory testing, quality assurance, quality control, instrument maintenance, policy and procedure manuals, test method development.

Presentation Topics: The Role of the Clinical Laboratory

Health Promotion / Crossroads
Vacant

Vacant, Associate Director
Health Promotion / Crossroads
(910) 962-7513

Nicole Barr

Nicole Barr, MSEd, LPC, Direct Services Coordinator
Crossroads
(910) 962-4049
barrn@uncw.edu

This position supervises the alcohol and other drug conduct interventions on campus and is a resource for any substance use concerns students may have about themselves or someone else in their life. Nicole received her B.S. in Psychology and her M.S.Ed. in Community Counseling at Western Illinois University, and is a licensed professional counselor in the state of North Carolina. Nicole has been at UNCW since September 2017.

Chelsea Stant

Chelsea Stant, MS, RD, LDN, Campus Dietitian
Health Promotion
(910) 962-4621
stantc@uncw.edu

The Campus Dietitian provides individual nutrition consults for UNCW students. In addtion, this position is responsible for educational activities and programs that address students' nutrition issues.

Chelsea has her Master's Degree in Human Sciences and a Bachelor's Degree in Human Ecology, and is a registered Dietitian.

Vacant

Vacant, Coordinator for Peer Education
Health Promotion and Crossroads
(910) 962-7330

 

Brenda Morse

Brenda Morse, Administrative Associate
Health Promotion and Crossroads
(910) 962-4135
morseb@uncw.edu

This position provides administrative support for Health Promotion, Crossroads, and Collegiate Recovery Community.