Agenda for Faculty Senate Meeting
April 16, 2013
2:00 pm � 4:00 pm. EB 162
Meeting 2013-04

1.      Call to order.

2.      Approval of March 2013 minutes

3.      Individual Reports

a.       Chancellor�s report � Yields to Provost Battles

b.      Senate President�s report -- Lugo

   Faculty Assembly update

o   Legislation Day held on April 03. Laurie Patterson represented UNCW for the FA delegation.

o   More CAA meeting on articulation matrices: Replace 44 core to 30 hours of guaranteed Gen-Ed credits. CC pathways structure basically unchanged

   SACS � Has come but not gone

   Budget � Intellectual potential model

4.      Committee Reports

a.       The Evaluation committee offers the following motion:
[Motion 2013-04-M01]  
That, beginning with the fall semester 2013, the Student Perceptions of Teaching (SPOT) student evaluation of instruction instrument be replaced for all UNCW courses by the online Diagnostic Survey Form of The IDEA Center; and further, to accomplish this change, that the Faculty Handbook be amended as indicated in the attached document

   Faculty Handbook changes

   Background information on The IDEA Center and rationale.

b.      The Faculty Welfare Committee offers the following motion
[Motion 2013-04-M02]
Parking rates for part-time faculty

c.       The University Curriculum Committee offers the following motion
[Motion 2013-04-M03] Merger of The Department of Early Childhood and Special Education (ECSE) and the Department of Elementary, Middle Level and Literacy Education (EMLLE)

5.      Steering Committee offers the following motion
[Motion 2013-04-M04] To the reconstitute the senate Public Relations and Extended Education committee into a new committee as follows
Faculty Engagement and Outreach committee

a.       Duties: To advise in the planning, innovation, and operation of external applied learning programs, especially in terms of content and overall relevance of its operations to the institution and its service mission. To work with all units related to public service, extended education and public relations on improving the visibility and impact of the university on our community. To foster and publicize scholarly faculty engagement,

b.      Membership: Seven faculty members.  The ACC & Dean for Undergraduate Studies, the Executive Director for Public Relations and the chair of the Innovations Council shall be ex officio non-voting members.

6.      Old Business

7.      New Business

8.      For the Good of the Order


9.      Announcement

   Designs on eLearning � CTE

   Applied Learning and Teaching Community Events � Boersma

   Unified Budget Planning- Presentation by VCBA at spring faculty meeting

10.  Adjournment