CHHS Student Success Center Team

Vision
We enrich the student experience.

Mission
We provide support for students and alumni resulting in professional leaders and global citizens.

Please view our Academic Advising Syllabus.

Change Advisor Request »

SSC Faculty team

Meet the Team

Sheri Shaw

Sheri Shaw
Assistant Dean for Student Success

Full Bio
We Are UNCW profile

shaws@uncw.edu
910-962-7603

Sheri Shaw joined the Student Success Center in 2016 as the new assistant dean for student success. She began her academic career at Illinois, where she created the award-winning Mannie L. Jackson Illinois Academic Enrichment and Leadership Program within the College of Applied Health Sciences. After Illinois, she worked at Drexel University in the LeBow College of Business as the director of undergraduate student services, overseeing the implementation of the award winning LeBow BRIDGE academic enrichment program.

Adam HallAdam Hall, 09, M11, and Ed.D19
Assistant Director for Academic Advising

halla@uncw.edu
910-962-0514

Adam Hall joined the Student Success Center in May 2021. He oversees and supports the academic advising functions for the unit alongside the Assistant Dean for Student Success, Sheri Shaw. Adam has a long service history with the state of North Carolina and UNCW. Most recently, he worked as an Employee Relations Consultant with UNCW Human Resources, where he was responsible for managing an array of institutional personnel needs. Adam is committed to helping students and fellow alumni reach their personal and professional goals. 

Kirkshinta TurnipseedKirkshinta "Shin" Turnipseed
Student Success Coordinator

turnipseedk@uncw.edu
910-962-2150

Kirkshinta “Shin” Turnipseed, MS, joined the Student Success Center in May 2021. Shin is the primary contact for academic and student support programming for the SSC and is responsible for developing collaborative, innovative and interprofessional programming for throughout the student life cycle. She has won several national awards from the National Academic Advising Association (NACADA). Shin's professional experiences include coordinating academic support and academic advisement programs at SUNY Buffalo, Utica College and the University of Illinois.

Linda KlecknerLinda Kleckner
Administrative Associate

klecknerl@uncw.edu
910-962-3208

Linda Kleckner has been with UNCW since 2005, having started at the School of Nursing's Student Services Office, then transitioning to the Student Success Center when the School of Nursing became a part of the College of Health and Human Services in 2012. She provides administrative support to the advisors in the Student Success Center.

Advisor Information Program Expertise

Natalie BernardinaNatalie Bernardina
Student Success Advisor

Bio

bernardinan@uncw.edu
910-962-7337

Undergraduate Programs

  • Clinical Research (Liaison)
  • Social Work
  • Exercise Science
  • Prelicensure Nursing

Ashley AuerbachAshley Auerbach Bingham
Student Success Advisor

Bio

auerbacha@uncw.edu
910-962-7927

Undergraduate Programs

  • Exercise Science
  • Recreation Therapy (Liaison)
  • Public Health
  • Prelicensure Nursing

Donesha CarltonDonesha Carlton
Student Success Advisor

Bio

carltondd@uncw.edu
910-962-2885

Undergraduate Programs

  • RN-BSN
  • Respiratory Therapy - RRT-BSRT Degree Advancement

Graduate Programs

  • Healthcare Administration (Liaison)

Monica ChaseMonica Chase
Student Success Advisor

Bio

chasem@uncw.edu
910-962-2412

 Undergraduate Programs

  • RN-BSN

Graduate Programs

  • DNP (BSN-DNP & MSN-DNP)

Latisha CorpeningLatisha Corpening 
Student Success Advisor

Bio

corpeningl@uncw.edu
910-962-2568

Undergraduate Programs

  • RN-BSN
  • Respiratory Therapy - RRT-BSRT Degree Advancement (Liaison)

Graduate Programs

  • Nurse Educator

Kelley Cansler Dimopoulos

Kelley Cansler Dimopoulos
Student Success Advisor

Bio

dimopoulosk@uncw.edu
910-962-2733

 

Undergraduate Programs

  • RN-BSN

Graduate Programs

  • Healthcare Administration
  • Nurse Educator

Mark ForbesMark Forbes
Student Success Advisor

Bio

forbesm@uncw.edu
910-962-2080

Undergraduate Programs

  • Exercise Science 
  • Public Health
  • Healthful Living & Fitness Education (Liaison)
  • Respiratory Therapy (Liaison)

Becky HardyBecky Hardy
Student Success Advisor

Bio

hardyrs@uncw.edu
910-962-7276

Undergraduate Programs

  • RN-BSN

Rachel KempRachel Kemp Kleitches
Student Success Advisor

Bio

kempr@uncw.edu
910-962-7659

Undergraduate Programs

  • RN-BSN (Liaison)
  • Respiratory Therapy - RRT-BSRT Degree Advancement
  • Healthful Living & Fitness Education

Graduate Programs

  • Nurse Educator

Carrie KemptonCarie Kempton
Student Success Advisor

Bio

kemptonc@uncw.edu
910-962-7099

Undergraduate Programs

  • RN-BSN
  • Social Work Onslow Extension (Liaison)

Graduate Programs

  • Healthcare Administration

Edye LevinEdye Levin
Student Success Advisor

Bio

levine@uncw.edu
910-962-7616

Undergraduate Programs

  • Prelicensure Nursing
  • Tourism, Recreation & Sport (Liaison)
  • Recreation Therapy
  • Clinical Research

Graduate Programs

  •  Social Work (Liaison)

Adam NelsonAdam Nelson
Student Success Advisor

Bio

nelsona@uncw.edu
910-962-7610

Undergraduate Programs

  • Exercise Science (Liaison)
  • Respiratory Therapy
  • Public Health (Liaison)

Jason PorterJason Porter
Student Success Advisor

Bio

porterj@uncw.edu
910-962-0574

Undergraduate Programs

  • RN-BSN
  • Healthful Living & Fitness Education

Graduate Programs

  • Nurse Educator (Liaison)
  • Healthcare Administration

Mark ShellMark Shell
Student Success Advisor

Bio

shellm@uncw.edu
910-962-7625

Undergraduate Programs

  • Social Work (Liaison)
  • Clinical Research
  • Tourism, Recreation & Sport
  • Exercise Science

Susan ThornhillSusan Thornhill
Student Success Advisor

Bio

thornhills@uncw.edu
910-962-2893 

 

Undergraduate Programs

  • Respiratory Therapy - RRT-BSRT Degree Advancement
  • RN-BSN

Graduate Programs

  •  Nurse Educator

 

Mark WerbeachMark Werbeach
Student Success Advisor

Bio

werbeachm@uncw.edu
910-962-7211

Undergraduate Programs

  • Prelicensure Nursing (Liaison)
  • Respiratory Therapy
  • Public Health
  • Clinical Research


SSC Student Office Assistants

Student Office Assistants

Meghan HaiglerMeghan Haigler
  • Criminology, May 2020.
  • Political Science, May 2020.
  • After taking an intro class, it gained my interest in criminology.
  • Fun Fact/Hobby: A member of Sigma Alpha Omega.
  • Future Plans: Attend graduate school at UNCW to get master's degree in conflict management and resolution.
Evonne MeyrelesEvonne Meyreles
  • Pre-licensure Nursing, December 2021.
  • Studio Art, December 2019.
  • Passion to care for children and adolescents in the healthcare profession, discovered from volunteering in fundraising events.
  • Fun Fact/ Hobby: film photography.
  • Future Plans: Becoming a travel nurse, working in pediatric oncology.