Student Research and Scholarship

Research Opportunities in the CHHS

School of Social Work

Name

Research Topic

Semesters Email
Kris Hohn

Health disparities, marginalized & vulnerable populations, LGBTQ+ communities, Motherhood

Spring 2019; Summer 2019; Fall 2019 hohnk@uncw.edu 

School of Health and Applied Human Sciences

Name

Research Topic Semesters Email
Hannah Priest Catalano

HPV vaccination, reproductive health, risk behaviors (e.g., binge drinking, unsafe sex, drug abuse)

Spring 2019; possibly Summer 2019; Fall 2019 catalanoh@uncw.edu 
Lenis Chen-Edinboro

Sleep research, nutrition and mental health

Summer 2019 & Fall 2019  edinborol@uncw.edu 
Sabrina Cherry

HIV/AIDS

Spring 2019; Fall 2019 cherrys@uncw.edu 
Dan Johnson

Family perceptions of the benefits of participating in Ainsley's Angels 5k races (disability) 

Ongoing johnsonde@uncw.edu 
John Lothes

Mindfulness, Dialectical Behavior Therapy, depression, anxiety, test anxiety, health and well-being

Spring 2019; Fall 2019 lothesj@uncw.edu 
Justine Reel

Eating disorders, body image, intitutive exercise, sport and exercise psychology

Ongoing reelj@uncw.edu 
Eric Richardson

Human resource related topics - Nursing job satisfaction commitment, healthcare quality and value-based healthcare topics 

Spring 2019; Fall 2019 richardsone@uncw.edu 

School of Nursing

Name

Research Topic

Semesters Email

Tammy Arms

Older adults and/or mental health issues

Ongoing armst@uncw.edu
Paula Baisden

Health and/or social policy and politics, empathy, intrinsic motivation, incivility, eating disorders, anxiety, depression, suicide, interprofessional collaboration

Ongoing baisdenp@uncw.edu 

Julie Hinkle

Adaptive learning, student engagement

Spring 2019 hinklej@uncw.edu 

Barbara Lutz

Stroke caregiving, stroke transitional care

Depends lutzb@uncw.edu 

Stephanie Smith

Community based participatory research - specific topics will vary

Ongoing smithsd@uncw.edu 

Suzy Diggle-Fox

Geriatrics, Parkinson's Disease, hospice, time management, anxiety, hurricanes R/T anxiety and preparedness

ASAP digglefoxb@uncw.edu