Student Research and Scholarship

Research Opportunities in the CHHS

School of Social Work

Name

Research Topic

Semesters Email
Kris Hohn

Health disparities, marginalized & vulnerable populations, LGBTQ+ communities, Motherhood

Ongoing hohnk@uncw.edu
Noell Rowan

Aging, LGBT populations, mental health and substance use disorders and addictions, spirituality and social work practice

Fall 2020; Spring 2021 rowann@uncw.edu
Alicia Sellon

Volunteerism and community participation among older adults during the pandemic

Fall 2020 through Spring 2022 sellonm@uncw.edu

School of Health and Applied Human Sciences

Name

Research Topic Semesters Email
Hannah Catalano

HPV vaccination, reproductive health, risk behaviors (e.g., binge drinking, unsafe sex, drug abuse)

Spring 2019; possibly Summer 2019; Fall 2019 catalanoh@uncw.edu 
Lenis Chen-Edinboro Sleep, nutrition and mental health research across the lifespan, including in older adults Fall 2020 through Summer 2021 edinborol@uncw.edu 
Sabrina Cherry Health disparities, health inequity and social justice Ongoing cherrys@uncw.edu 
Dan Johnson

Family perceptions of the benefits of participating in Ainsley's Angels 5k races (disability) 

Ongoing johnsonde@uncw.edu 
John Lothes

Mindfulness, Dialectical Behavior Therapy, depression, anxiety, test anxiety, health and well-being

Spring 2019; Fall 2019 lothesj@uncw.edu 
Tina Newsham

Aging, older adults, pedagogy, career development, perceptions of aging/older adults, public art and health, social justice, environmental sustainability

Ongoing newshamt@uncw.edu
Eric Richardson Human resources related topics; Nursing job satisfaction/commitment/turnover; competency based education; online learning design Fall 2020; Spring 2021 richardsone@uncw.edu 
Alana Seaman Placemaking (e.g. humansitic geography); the relationships between popular culture and tourism, sports, and/or leisure; and trends in food and beverage (e.g. sports concessions; breweries; wine club membership; food souvenirs, etc.) Ongoing seamana@uncw.edu

School of Nursing

Name

Research Topic

Semesters Email

Tammy Arms

Older adults and/or mental health issues

Ongoing armst@uncw.edu
Paula Baisden Interpersonal relationships in the university setting (incivility, collaboration, teaching/learning) and eating disorders Ongoing baisdenp@uncw.edu 
Lisa Bove

Do Fitbits® Encourage Health Tracking and Lower Blood Pressure in Barbershop Initiatives?

Fall 2020; Spring 2021 bovel@uncw.edu
Suzy Diggle-Fox

Geriatrics, Parkinson's Disease, hospice, time management, anxiety, hurricanes R/T anxiety and preparedness

ASAP digglefoxb@uncw.edu
Hailey Estrem

Family management of childhood chronic conditions, pediatric feeding disorder and developmental trajectories, measure development, food allergy, and mixed-method research

Ongoing estremh@uncw.edu

Julie Hinkle

Adaptive learning, student engagement

Spring 2019 hinklej@uncw.edu 

Carolyn Kleman

Self-management in chronic illness and patient self-advocacy

klemanc@uncw.edu

Barbara Lutz

Stroke caregiving, stroke transitional care

Depends lutzb@uncw.edu 

Stephanie Smith

Community based participatory research - specific topics will vary

Ongoing smithsd@uncw.edu 

Stephanie Turrise

Do Fitbits® Encourage Health Tracking and Lower Blood Pressure in Barbershop Initiatives?

Fall 2020; Spring 2021 turrises@uncw.edu