UNCW Partners with Emory University Rollins School of Public Health to establish North Carolina Public Health Training Center

Dr. Charles J. Hardy, founding dean and professor of the College of Health and Human Services and Dr. Randy Cottrell, professor of Public Health Studies (School of Health and Applied Human Sciences) was recently awarded a four-year cooperative agreement to direct the North Carolina Local Performance Site (LPS) through the newly funded Region IV Public Health Training Center (PHTC) headquartered at the Rollins School of Public Health (RSPH), Emory University in Atlanta, Georgia.

Hardy and Cottrell will collaborate with CHHS professionals including Dr. Stephanie Smith and Dr. Justine Reel to develop the new N.C. LPS, which will be referred to as the NCPHTC: A Member of the R-IV PHTC Network.

This Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) funded award joins UNCW with five other LPS sites in the southeast (University of Alabama at Birmingham, Florida A&M University, University of Louisville, Medical University of South Carolina and East Tennessee State University) to train the public health workforce, expose public health students to the value of working in underserved areas, advocate for public health systems and policies and contribute expertise throughout the nation.

Dr. Kathleen Miner, professor and associate dean of Applied Public Health at the RSPH and principal investigator for the Region IV PHTC stated, "I am profoundly grateful that Dean Hardy and his talented colleagues at the University of North Carolina Wilmington have agreed to be a part of our center's team, because their expertise is unmatched and their social commitment beyond compare."

The priority populations for the Region IV PHTC services are public health and other health professionals in governmental organizations that serve medically underserved populations within the following states: Georgia, Alabama, Florida, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. The Region IV PHTC Center is one of 10 regional centers funded throughout the United States.