Division Committees

Student Affairs Committees and Work Groups

Statement of Rationale:
The Division of Student Affairs is invested in the professional career development of its staff, including professional staff and professional administrative staff. To that end, myriad opportunities exist for staff to volunteer for divisional committees and workgroups. Staff are encouraged to discuss their interests in divisional service with their supervisor before requesting to serve on a divisional committee or workgroup.

Current Student Affairs Committees and Work Groups:

Listed below are current Student Affairs committees. To express interest in a specific committee, click on the chair's name to contact the chair by e-mail.

Assessment Committee
Responsible for communicating empirically-based findings to the vice chancellor in ways that empower informed decision making. Works through the process of transitioning from a summative, evaluative understanding of assessment (student satisfaction surveys, value of service delivery surveys, etc.) to one grounded in a richer understanding of student learning. Develops a common assessment lexicon reflecting an outcomes-based approach to assessment.

Chair: Andy Mauk
Members: Sara Gilbert, Rebecca Caldwell, Thom Rakes, Mike Phillips, Larry Wray, Shane Fernando, Jaime Russell, Jim Dolan, Uchenna Baker, Jennie McNeilly, Aimee Helmus, Will Wilkinson, Andrea Dorow

Awards and Recognition Committee
Responsible for organizing and disseminating welcome bags for new employees within the division. Coordinates the annual divisional awards process, including nomination and committee selection process. Creates the program and hosts the annual luncheon.

Chair: Justin Inscoe
Vice Chair:
Liaison: Ann Glossl
Members: Abby Knight, Zach Gilbert, Diane Edwards, Justin Wojcik, Crystal Hollenbaugh, Gail Hogan, Trisha Tinney, Danette Brown, Susanne Gaconnier, Frances Carr

Diversity Committee
Responsible for identifying staff training and development initiatives, staff recruitment and retention activities and student education. The committee presents their recommendations for action on an ongoing basis.

Chair: Sarah Crockett
Vice Chair: Courtney Simmons
Liaison: Brian Victor
Members: Allison Jones, Brian Stelzer, Clifton Williams, Tiffani Idol, Stefanie Anderson, Christina Logan, Danette Brown

Parent’s Mini-Grant Committee
Responsible for awarding funding for programs for students within the Division of Student Affairs.

Chair: Chip Phillips
Vice Chair: Aimee Helmus
Liaison: Pat Leonard
Members: Jen Adler, Bill DiNome, David Parker, Michael Ruwe

Professional Administrative Staff Committee
Responsible for planning and coordinating the annual professional administrative staff retreat.

Chair: Cathy Murphy
Vice Chair:
Liaison: Ann Glossl
Members: Isis Arrieta-Dennis, Lisa Boyd, Betsy Terkeltoub, Mimi Pfeiffer, Mindy Phillips, Gina Speight, David Fann, Lauren Auton, Tiffany Bowie

Professional Development Committee
Responsible for providing a range of opportunities for the intellectual, professional, social and cultural development of the Division of Student Affairs staff in order to increase knowledge of UNCW, enhance professional competencies and deliver exceptional service to students.

Chair: Bradley Davis
Vice Chair:
Liaison: Brian Victor
Members: Leslie Wright, Bill DiNome, Sarah Gilbert, Holly Taylor, Michael Ruwe, Kait Goodnight, Barbie Cowan, Amy Hector

Tech & Web Committee
Responsible for assisting the division with tech and web development.

Chair: Michael Barugel
Vice Chair: Zach Hollenbaugh
Liaison: Thom Rakes
Members: Jen Adler, Diane Reed, Cathy Murphy, Phillip Sharp, Marquita Brown, Aimee Hourigan, Sean Ahlum, Aimee Helmus, Tom Kunz, Emily Bridgman, Danette Brown, David Fann, Jason Davis

Cornerstone Community Standards Committee (Workgroup)

Co-Chairs: Chip Phillips and Kristen Tucker

UNC Wilmington | 601 S. College Road, Wilmington NC 28403 | 910.962.3000 | About this Site | Copyright Notice | Feedback | Page maintained by:  Susanne R. Gaconnier [ gaconniers AT uncw DOT edu ]