School of Nursing

Nu Omega Induction 2014

Sigma Theta Tau

Celebrating 93 years of nursing excellence

In 1922, six nursing students founded Sigma Theta Tau at the Indiana University Training School for Nurses. The Greek letters they chose stood for "storgé,""tharsos" and "timé": love, courage and honor. Ninety-three years later, the Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) serves 135,000 active members in more than 90 countries and nursing profession at large. It has chapters located at 674 college and university schools of nursing worldwide. 50% of the Society's members work in a hospital or multihospital setting, 16% work in schools of nursing, and 35% hold master's and/or doctoral degrees.


Membership is contingent upon an invitation from the Nu Omega Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau.

  • Undergraduate students must be enrolled in a baccalaureate or
         equivalent nursing degree program that leads to the first professional degree:
    • Complete one-half of the nursing curriculum
    • Have at least a 3.5 GPA (GPAs will not be rounded up)
    • Meet the expectations of academic integrity
  • RN-BSN must have completed 1/2 of their program.
    • Have at least a 3.5 GPA
  • Graduate students must be enrolled in master, post-master, doctoral and post-doctoral graduate study.
    • Complete one-quarter of the nursing curriculum
    • Have at least a 3.5 GPA  (based on a 4.0 scale)
  • Nurse Leaders are  registered nurses who are legally recognized to practice in his/her country.
    • Be a registered nurse
    • Hold at least a baccalaureate degree or equivalent
    • Have demonstrated marked achievement in nursing education, practice, research, administration or publication
  • Honorary Members is a person who is not eligible for regular membership in STTI but who has  gained national and/or international recognition in the field of nursing  or any field contributing to nursing.

The 1st and 2nd Counselors of Nu Omega review cohort induction criteria for pre-licensure (first semester seniors), RN-BSN, and graduate program in the Spring and Fall semesters. Once those who meet the listed criteria have been identified, invitations with induction information will be sent. If, prior to graduation, a student who was not eligible during the first round of invitations becomes eligible, they may contact the 1st or 2nd Counselor to request consideration for an invitation.



Ann Quinlan-Colwell, PhD, RN, AH, BC, FAAPM President

President Elect

Karen Juma, RNC, MPH, NE-BC


Denise Kuhn RN, MSN, ACM,


Tom Curley, RN, MSN, NE-BC


Stephanie Turrise, PhD, RN, BC, APRN, CNE Treasurer

1st Counselor

Kelly Laham, MSN, RN, ANP-BC, CNE

2nd Counselor

Penny Sauer, PhD, RN,CCRN, CNE

Governance Committee

Chair, Kelly Laham, MSN, RN, ANP-BC, CNE

Tamatha Arms, DNP, PMHNP-BC, NP-C

Wendy Holmes, RN

Brandy Mechling, PhD, RN, PMHCNS-B

Patricia White, MSNm RNC, CNE

Leadership Succession Committee Members

Chair, April Matthias, PhD, RN, CNE -

Membership Involvement Chair

Billie Thay Robinson, MSN, RN, CPPS

Membership Ambassadors

Cynthia Schweizer, MSN, RN

Nu Omega Chapter Goals

  • Goal 1 - Promote the growth of Sigma Theta Tau International membership in all areas
  • Goal 2 - Expand funding resources for research and scholarship
  • Goal 3 - Establish a database for knowledge (content expert), research and practice

Contact Information

Ms. Kelly Laham, First Counselor
University of North Carolina Wilmington
School of Nursing
601 South College Road
Wilmington, NC 28403