World Languages & Cultures

Volunteer Opportuntities

Ongoing

  • Brunswick County Health Department: Interpret in their pediatric, women's health, OB, and communicable disease clinics, translate documents/flyers for clinics, complete home visits with social workers and interpret at DSS, available hours are 8:30 - 4:30pm, 25 Courthouse Drive NE, Bolivia NC, contact - Britt Huggins (britt.huggins@brunswickcountync.gov)
  • Centro Latino: Volunteer to provide case management, ESL childcare, among many more opportunities; 4804 Wrightsville Ave, contact - Lucy Vasquez (lucyvasquez.amigos@gmail.com)
  • College Park Elementary: Provide one-on-one or small group tutoring to students who are learning English; hours/days vary, 5001 Oriole Dr, contact - Tricia Christmas (tricia.christmas@nhcs.net)
  • Communities in Schools: Volunteer in local schools, providing tutoring in math, reading, etc, or as a mentor. As little as one hour/week commitment, contact - Louise Hicks ( 343-1901, louise@ciscapefear.org).
  • Family Literacy Class: Help children with their homework and practice reading and writing in Spanish with them while their parents are in an ESL class; Tuesdays & Thursdays 6pm, contact - Amanda Boomershine (boomershinea@uncw.edu)
  • Farmworker Health Program in Pender County: Volunteer to help migrant farmworkers and their families, with opportunities such as volunteering with a bilingual diabetes class, a dental clinic, and a flu clinic, contact - Natalie Hyatt (nhyatt@pendercountync.gov)
  • Habitat for Humanity: Help increase home ownternship opportunities for Hispanics by translating materials and interpreting for potential clients; hours/days vary, contact - Tim Synan (tim@capefearhabitat.org)
  • Hispanic Youth Soccer League: Share your love of soccer with Hispanic children; Saturdays, 9am - noon (students can volunteer for 1, 2 or 3 hours), Maides Park, contact - Evie Morales (evie.morales@gmail.com)
  • Homework Tutor: Work one-on-one with Hispanic children who need homework assistance, evenings or weekends (boomershinea@uncw.edu)
  • New Hanover County Schools: Volunteer with children who are learning English or Spanish in local schools. Sign up here. Contact - Maria Black (maria.black@nhcs.net).
  • Williston Middle School: Provide one-on-one or small group tutoring to students who are learning English; hours/days vary, contact - David Pena (david.pena@nhcs.net)
  • Wilmington Family YMCA - Girls on the Run and STRIDE: Help Girls on the Run and STRIDE programs at the Y by helping them translate their forms and website into Spanish, and offering Spanish-speaking office hours once or twice during the season. Flexible volunteer hours, contact - Aileen Sutton (aileen.sutton@wilmingtonfamilyymca.org, 9102519622 x255).

August

September

October

November