Comeback Season'Cathy DayThe Circus in Winter

Honors Speakers

The Honors College hosts a "Spring Speaker" each year who brings to the campus an important, scholarly discussion that is current and interdisciplinary. Traditionally, prior to the speaker's arrival, a book group open to faculty, staff, and students is sponsored by the College to engage the community in the topic at hand and enliven discussion, debate, and promote opportunities for inquiry. For info on the current reading group, please contact Kate Bruce.

2016 Honors Speaker: Cathy Day

The UNCW Honors College will host the lecture, "The Circus in Winter" by Cathy Day, Tuesday, April 5th, 2016 at 7:00 p.m. in the Warwick Ballroom on the campus of the University of North Carolina Wilmington. The lecture will be followed by a question and answer session and book-signing. This event is free and open to the public. No tickets are required.

Additional opportunities to meet the author on April 6- contact Kate Bruce for more info ( or just show up-

11:30 AM-1:30 PM, Azalea Coast room, Fisher Center

Presentation will begin at noon.

The Original Facebook: Social Media in the Pre-Digital Days

4:00 PM-5:30 PM, Honors classroom, Randall Library 2006

How to Write a Big Thing

Cathy Day is the author of two books: Comeback Season: How I Learned to Play the Game of Love (Free Press, 2008) and The Circus in Winter (Harcourt, 2004). She teaches creative writing at Ball State University, and is currently working on Book #3.

Honors is sponsoring a reading group for all UNCW students, faculty and staff. You can come Fridays at 3 PM in the Honors classroom, room 2006 Randall Library. All members receive a book. LAST meeting April 1.

Co-sponsored by: Academic Affairs, Undergraduate Studies, Departments of English, Communication Studies, Sociology and Criminology, Philosophy & Religion, and World Languages & Cultures, Wilmington Fellows, Student Honors Advisory Council, Honors Scholars Association.

For more information regarding Cathy Day please follow this link to her web page

Past speakers for the Honors College have included: Dr. Neil Shubin, Dr. Dan Simons, Ms. Minnie Jean Brown Trickey, Dr. Kenneth Miller, Mr. Richard Leakey, Dr. E.O. Wilson, Dr. Sarah Boysen, Mr. Seth Kramer and Dr. David Harrison, Mr. David Quammen, Mr. Nat Faxon and Mr. Jim Rash, Mr. Paul Loeb, Dr. Paul Zubrin, Dr. Mark Plotkin, Dr. Michael Ruse, Dr. Maeve Leakey, Mr. Charles Mann, and Mr. Ralph Nader.

Back to "Events"