Department of English

(l-r) Dr. Alex Porco, Dr. Meghan Sweeney, Dr. Kate Maddalena, librarian Lisa Coats and department lecturer Amanda Cosgrove visit the Wentworth Travel Fellowship presentations in April, 2017, at Randall Library. This scholarship sends English Department scholars all over the world to research their favorites authors. - Photo by Jane MacLennan
(l-r) Dr. Alex Porco, Dr. Meghan Sweeney, Dr. Kate Maddalena, librarian Lisa Coats and department lecturer Amanda Cosgrove visit the Wentworth Travel Fellowship presentations in April, 2017, at Randall Library. This scholarship sends English Department scholars all over the world to research their favorites authors. - Photo by Jane MacLennan

English Faculty

All faculty portraits taken by Kathy Rugoff or Rory Laverty

Hannah Abrams Hannah Dela Cruz Abrams
Lecturer
abramsh@uncw.edu

Morton Hall 150

(910) 962-3085

Diana Ashe

Diana Ashe

Associate Professor

Director, Center for Teaching Excellence

ashed@uncw.edu

Randall Library 2038

(910) 962-3332

Anthony Atkins - Photo by Rory Laverty

Anthony T. Atkins

Associate Professor

atkinsa@uncw.edu

Morton Hall 154

(910) 962-7682

Ashley Bissette Sumerel - Photo by Rory Laverty

Ashley Bissette Sumerel
Senior Lecturer

Sigma Tau Delta Advisor

bissettee@uncw.edu

Morton Hall 103D
(910) 962-2960
Megan Hodgson - Photo by Rory Laverty

Megan Blumenthal

Lecturer

blumenthalm@uncw.edu

Morton Hall 105B

(910) 962-7547

Mark Boren - Photo by Rory Laverty

Mark Boren

Professor

borenm@uncw.edu

Morton Hall 129

(910) 962-7545

Michelle Britt - Photo by Rory Laverty

Michelle Britt
Lecturer
brittm@uncw.edu

Morton Hall 135
(910) 962-3094

Don Bushman - Photo by Rory Laverty

Don Bushman

Associate Professor

bushmand@uncw.edu

Morton Hall 125

(910) 962-3655

Amanda Cosgrove - Photo by Rory Laverty

Amanda Cosgrove Coyne 

Lecturer

cosgrovea@uncw.edu

Morton Hall 103B

(910) 962-2781

Lance Cummings - Photo by Rory Laverty

Lance Cummings

Assistant Professor

Internship Coordinator

cummingsl@uncw.edu

Morton Hall 120

(910) 962-3334

Tiffany Gilbert

Tiffany Gilbert

Associate Professor
Department Chair

gilbertt@uncw.edu

Morton Hall 163

(910) 962-7746

Sarah Hallenbeck - Photo by Rory Laverty

Sarah Hallenbeck

Assistant Professor
Composition Coordinator

hallenbecks@uncw.edu

Morton Hall 160

(910) 962-3714

Kimi Hemingway - - Photo by Rory Laverty Kimi Faxon Hemingway
Lecturer
faxonk@uncw.edu
Morton Hall 151
(910) 962-3143
Paula Kamenish - Photo by Rory Laverty

Paula Kamenish

Associate Professor

kamenishp@uncw.edu

Morton Hall 155

(910) 962-3617

Nicholas Laudadio

Nicholas Laudadio

Associate Professor

laudadion@uncw.edu

Morton Hall 138

(910) 962-7442

Rory Laverty - Photo by Rory Laverty

Rory Laverty
Lecturer
lavertyr@uncw.edu

Morton Hall 103A
(910) 962-3193

Jane MacLennan -- Photo by Rory Laverty

Jane MacLennan

Senior Lecturer

maclennanj@uncw.edu

Morton Hall 103C

(910) 962-7702

Victor Malo - Photo by Rory Laverty

Victor Malo-Juvera

Assistant Professor

Undergraduate Coordinator

malov@uncw.edu

Morton Hall 132

(910) 962-3597

Michelle Manning -- Photo by Rory Laverty

Michelle Manning

Senior Lecturer

English in Action Coordinator

manningm@uncw.edu

Morton Hall 121

(910) 962-7426

Shirley Mathews - Photo by Kathy Rugoff

Shirley Mathews

Senior Lecturer

mathewss@uncw.edu

Morton Hall 105C

(910) 962-3525

Katherine Montweiler - Photo by Rory Laverty

Katherine Montwieler

Director of Women’s Studies and Resource Center

Associate Professor

montwielerk@uncw.edu

Bear 211

(910) 962-4236

Keith Newlin - Photo by Rory Laverty

Keith Newlin

Professor

newlink@uncw.edu

Morton Hall 131

(910) 962-3615

Dan Noland

Dan Noland

Associate Professor

nolandd@uncw.edu

Morton Hall 127

(910) 962-3322

Noelle Smith - Photo by Rory Laverty

Noelle Parker

Lecturer

parkern@uncw.edu

Morton Hall 153

(910) 962-3320

Katie Peel - Photo by Rory Laverty

Katie Peel

Associate Professor

peelk@uncw.edu

Morton Hall 158

(910) 962-7507

Alex Porco - Photo by Rory Laverty

Alex Porco

Assistant Professor

porcoa@uncw.edu

Morton Hall 130

(910) 962-2956

Anirban Ray - Photo by Rory Laverty

Anirban Ray

Assistant Professor

rayan@uncw.edu

Morton Hall 164

(910) 962-3703

Colleen Reilly - Photo by Rory Laverty

Colleen Reilly

Professor

reillyc@uncw.edu

Morton Hall 157

(910) 962-7548

Lee Schweninger

Lee Schweninger

Professor

schweningerl@uncw.edu

Morton Hall 128

(910) 962-3539

Meghan Sweeney - Click for personal web page

Meghan Sweeney

Associate Professor

Coordinator of Graduate Studies

sweeneym@uncw.edu

Morton Hall 159

(910) 962-3054

Jeremy Tirrell - Photo by Rory Laverty

Jeremy Tirrell

Associate Professor

tirrellj@uncw.edu

Morton Hall 161

(910) 962-2866

Lewis Walker

Lewis Walker

Professor

walkerj@uncw.edu

Morton Hall 124

(910) 962-3335

Mike Wentworth - Photo by Rory Laverty

Mike Wentworth

Professor

wentworthm@uncw.edu

Morton Hall 133

(910) 962-7154