Creative Writing

Department Chair & Staff

David Gessner

David Gessner, professor & department chair
and Ecotone editor-in-chief
creative nonfiction

gessnerdm@uncw.edu
910.962.7489

Megan Hubbard

Megan Hubbard, department administrator

hubbardm@uncw.edu
910.962.7063

Lisa Bertini

Lisa Bertini, MFA program assistant

bertinil@uncw.edu
910.962.3070

Faculty Profiles

Tim Bass

Tim Bass, senior lecturer, BFA coordinator & internship coordinator
creative nonfiction/fiction

basst@uncw.edu
910.962.7711

Wendy Brenner

Wendy Brenner, associate professor
fiction/creative nonfiction

brennerw@uncw.edu
910.962.3782

MC

Melissa Crowe, lecturer and MFA coordinator
poetry

crowem@uncw.edu
910.962.3436

Mark Cox

Mark Cox, professor
poetry

coxm@uncw.edu
910.962.3331

NdG

Nina de Gramont, associate professor
fiction

degramontm@uncw.edu
910.962.3426

Sayantani Dasgupta, assistant professor
creative nonfiction

dasguptas@uncw.edu 
910.962.7305

Clyde Edgerton

Clyde Edgerton, professor and recipient of
Thomas S. Kenan III Distinguished Professorship
fiction/creative nonfiction

edgertonc@uncw.edu

Philip Furia

Philip Furia, professor emeritus
creative nonfiction

furiap@uncw.edu
910.962.3321

Jill Gerard

Jill Gerard, Chautauqua co-editor

gerardj@uncw.edu
910.962.3650

Philip Gerard

Philip Gerard, professor & Chautauqua co-editor
fiction/creative nonfiction

gerardp@uncw.edu
910.962.3329

Lee

Rebecca Lee, associate professor
fiction/creative nonfiction

leer@uncw.edu
910.962.3266

Zelda Lockhart, visiting assistant professor, 2020-2023
creative nonfiction/fiction

Melody Moezzi

Melody Moezzi, visiting assistant professor, 2019-2023
creative nonfiction

moezzim@uncw.edu

MM

Malena Mörling, professor
poetry

morlingm@uncw.edu
910.962.7841

Anna Lena Phillips Bell

Anna Lena Phillips Bell, senior lecturer;
editor & art director, Ecotone;
editor Lookout Books


phillipsal@uncw.edu
910.962.7651

Michael Ramos, lecturer & outreach coordinator
creative nonfiction
assistant director of The Publishing Laboratory

ramosm@uncw.edu
910.962.7775

Robert Siegel

Robert Anthony Siegel, associate professor
fiction/creative nonfiction

siegelr@uncw.edu
910.962.7596

ELS

Emily Louise Smith, assistant professor
creative nonfiction/poetry
director of The Publishing Laboratory;
publisher, Ecotone and Lookout Books

smithel@uncw.edu
910.962.7401

Sophia Stid

Sophia Stid, lecturer & Ecotone postgraduate fellow
poetry

stids@uncw.edu
910.962.0579

Michael White

Michael White, professor
poetry

whitem@uncw.edu
910.962.3519