Creative Writing

2020-21 Events Calendar

All events are free and open to the public, unless noted otherwise.
<Campus Map>

<News> 
<Current Accolades> 

Fall 2020 Virtual Event Series
Date, Time (EST), Location

Reading & Book Launch of
Leave It as It Is
with David Gessner

Tuesday, August 11
7:00 p.m.
<via Zoom; link here>

A Reading with Visiting Writer
Toni Jensen
and Q&A with David Gessner

Thursday, September 17
7:00 p.m.
<via Zoom; link here>
pw: 808939

Reading & Book Launch of
Smaller Songs
with Anna Lena Phillips Bell
<more>

Thursday, September 24
7:00 p.m.
<via Zoom; link here>
pw: 918910

Writers' Week 2020

Monday, November 2 —
Friday, November 6
<virtual>

BFA Thesis Reading

Tuesday, November 24
5:00 p.m.
<via Zoom invitation>

Fall 2020 Creative Writing Undergraduate
Department Commencement Ceremony

Saturday, December 12
11:30 a.m.
<via Zoom invitation>

Fall 2020 UNCW Commencement

Saturday, December 12
1:00 p.m.
<virtual>

 

 

Events Calendar Archive

MFA Reading Series

Facebook Events Page

<Contact Us>

 

 

2019-20 Events

Spring 2020 Events
Date, Time, Location

A Reading with
Visiting Writer Kim Barnes

Thursday, February 20
7:00 p.m.
Kenan Hall 1111

A Reading with
Visiting Assistant Professor
Melody Moezzi

Monday, March 2
7:00 p.m.
Kenan Hall 1111

UNCW responds to coronavirus
uncw.edu/coronavirus

Spring Break extended through 3/20
Classes resume 3/23 via online format

MFA Thesis Reading I
(Gilbert, Howard, Murphy, Stephenson, Roa)
CANCELLED

Thursday, March 19
7:00 p.m.
Morton Auditorium 100

MFA Thesis Reading II
(Fulcher, Loving, Musick, Spiegel, Thies)
CANCELLED

Thursday, March 26
7:00 p.m.
Morton Auditorium 100

MFA Thesis Reading III
(Abrahamson, Culler, Olson, Taube, White)
CANCELLED

Thursday, April 2
7:00 p.m.
Morton Auditorium 100

A Reading with Novelist
Wiley Cash

—co-sponsored with the UNCW
Department of English
CANCELLED

Thursday, April 16
7:00 p.m.
Kenan Hall 1111

FlashLIT Writing Contest
Celebration of Winners!
1st Place: E.J. Schwartz (MFA '21)

an Earth Day Mash-Up

—a UNCW Randall Library event—

Thursday, April 23
5:30 p.m.
Virtual via Zoom
click here for more information
MFA Thesis Reading
(Culler, Gilbert, Loving, Olson, Spiegel, Taube)
Thursday, May 7
7:00 p.m.
Virtual via Zoom invitation
Spring 2020 UNCW Commencement
—postponed to December 2020—
Saturday, December 12
9:30 a.m.
<virtual>

 

Fall 2019 Events
Date, Time, Location

University Closure—Hurricane Dorian

uncw.edu/dorian

September 3—7

Chautauqua Issue 17
"Moxie"
Release Celebration

Thursday, September 19
7:00 p.m.
Flying Machine Brewery
3130 Randall Pkwy

Adapting to the Storms:
A Conversation about Wilmington
and the Cape Fear Region after Florence

Tuesday, September 24
6:30 p.m.
UNCW CMS Auditorium
<Facebook event>
Thursday, September 26
7:00 p.m.
Kenan Hall 1111
<Facebook event>
Thursday, October 24
7:00 p.m.
Kenan Hall 1111
Monday, November 4 -
Friday, November 8
various UNCW venues

Thirsty Tome 2019
'Food for Thought'
featuring Sayantani Dasgupta &
Jason Frye (MFA '05)

—a UNCW Randall Library event—

Wednesday, November 20
6:30-8:00 p.m.
Sherman Hayes Gallery
Randall Library, 1st Floor

BFA Thesis Reading
(CRW 496-001: Bass)

Wednesday, December 4
7:00-9:00 p.m.
Kenan Hall 1111

Fall 2019 UNCW Graduation:
The 'big' ceremony for the
College of Arts and Sciences

uncw.edu/commencement/events

Saturday, December 14
  9:30 a.m., Trask Coliseum

Fall 2019 Creative Writing Graduation:
The departmental ceremony for
undergraduate and graduate students

uncw.edu/commencement/Receptions

Saturday, December 14
11:30 a.m., Kenan Hall Lobby

  


<Events Calendar Archive>