Creative Writing

2020-21 Events Calendar

All events are free and open to the public, unless noted otherwise.
<Campus Map>
<MFA Reading Series>
<MFA Professional Series>
<News> & <Current Accolades>

Summer 2021 Events
Date, Time (EST), Location

Book Launch with David Gessner
celebrating the release of
Quiet Desperation, Savage Delight

Wednesday, June 2
7:00 p.m.
<virtual; register here>

A Conversation with Adam Gnuse (MFA '19)
featuring Clyde Edgerton
—celebrating the release of Girl in the Walls

Wednesday, June 2
8:00 p.m.
<virtual; register here>

Book Signing and Talk with David Gessner
hosted by Cape Fear Audubon
celebrating the release of
Quiet Desperation, Savage Delight

Friday, June 4
6:30 p.m.
Halyburton Events Center
4099 S 17th Street
<in person! register here>

Gilbert-Chappell Distinguished Poet Series Reading
featuring BFA '20 alumnx
Jules Miller and Mel Newcity,
moderated by Anna Lena Phillips Bell

Friday, July 9
7:00 p.m.
<virtual; register here>

Black Lawrence Press Author Reading
featuring Samantha L. Deal (MFA '13)

Tuesday, July 27
8:00 p.m.
<virtual; register here>

"Historically Speaking: Hell of a Talk
with Jason Mott," (MFA '08)
reading from his latest novel, Hell of a Book

sponsored by the Smithsonian African American History and Culture Musuem

Wednesday, July 28
7:00 p.m.
<virtual; register here>

 

 

Spring 2021 Virtual Event Series
Date, Time (EST), Location

MFA Thesis Reading I
(Bridges, Clifton, Jewell, McPhail, O'Hara, Thies)
<video, available through summer 2021>

Thursday, March 11
7:00 p.m.
<via Zoom>

A Reading with Visiting Writer
Ladee Hubbard

Thursday, March 18
7:00 p.m.
<via Zoom; link here>

Lookout Labs

Thursday, March 18
-and-
Thursday, March 25
2:00 - 3:15 p.m. (EST)

Write Wilmington

Friday mornings
March 19 — April 30
9:00 - 9:45 a.m. (EST)
MFA Thesis Reading II
(Conroy, McDermott,
Mannes Murray, Rodriguez, Schwartz)
Thursday, March 25
7:00 p.m.
<via Zoom>
MFA Thesis Reading III
(Colwell, Dobbs, Lake, Langston, Powers, Teter)
<video, available through summer 2021>
Thursday, April 8
7:00 p.m.
<via Zoom>
MFA Thesis Reading IV
(Dickerson, Keys, Noel, Roa, Sturdy, Tarpley)
<video, available through summer 2021>
Thursday, April 15
7:00 p.m.
<via Zoom>
Ecotone Garden Issue
Launch Party
Sunday, April 18
7:00 p.m.
<via Zoom; link here>
BFA Thesis Reading
(Crowe CRW 496)
<video, available through summer 2021>
Tuesday, April 27
5:00 p.m.
<via Zoom>
BFA Thesis Reading
(Mörling CRW 496)
<video>
Tuesday, April 27
6:30 p.m.
<via Zoom>
Spring 2021 Creative Writing
Undergraduate & Graduate
Department Commencement Ceremony
<video>
Friday, May 7
6:00 p.m.
<via Zoom>
SeahawkBoxesx150.jpg Spring 2021 UNCW Commencement virtual and in-person,
beginning Friday, May 7

 

Fall 2020 Virtual Event Series
Date, Time (EST), Location

Reading & Book Launch of
Leave It as It Is
with David Gessner

Tuesday, August 11
7:00 p.m.
<via Zoom; link here>

A Reading with Visiting Writer
Toni Jensen
and Q&A with David Gessner

Thursday, September 17
7:00 p.m.
<via Zoom; link here>
pw: 808939

Reading & Book Launch of
Smaller Songs
with Anna Lena Phillips Bell
<more>

Thursday, September 24
7:00 p.m.
<via Zoom; link here>
pw: 918910

Writers' Week 2020

Monday, November 2 —
Friday, November 6
<virtual>

BFA Thesis Reading

Tuesday, November 24
5:00 p.m.
<via Zoom invitation>

Fall 2020 Creative Writing Undergraduate
Department Commencement Ceremony

Saturday, December 12
11:30 a.m.
<via Zoom invitation>
SeahawkBoxesx150.jpg

Fall 2020 UNCW Commencement

Saturday, December 12
1:00 p.m.
<virtual>

 

 Facebook Events Page


<Events Calendar Archive>

<Contact Us>