Staff Senate

Scholarships & Grants

The Staff Senate Scholarship application is now open!


Global Travel Grant

Office of International Program    

The Office of International Programs supports international travel that will contribute to your global professional development. To learn more about this opportunity and to apply for this unique opportunity click here. The deadline is May 31, 2020. Please visit the Office of International Programs' website to learn more about the Global Travel Grant available to all full-time staff!

UNCW Staff Senate Scholarship from UNCW Ofc of Univ Relations on Vimeo.

Staff Senate Scholarship

The Staff Senate Scholarship was established to foster a spirit of unity, pride and cooperation among staff members by recognizing the leadership role staff play in the daily work of the university. This merit-based scholarship will be used to support university staff members and their dependents seeking a degree at the university. Approximately four scholarships are awarded each year, with an average amount of $500 each.


  • All permanent SHRA and non-teaching EHRA employees (working a minimum of ¾ of the time) and their dependents are eligible and encouraged to apply
  • The employee must be work for the university a minimum of one year before the first day of the semester of the award
  • The recipient must be accepted into UNCW and be pursuing a degree
  • Open to undergraduate and graduate students

Application, Deadline & Selection

  • Scholarship applications will open in December 2019
  • Applications will be accepted via the University Scholarship Application. Please respond to the specific Staff Senate Scholarship short answer question to apply
  • The deadline to apply is March 1, 2020
  • Staff Senate Scholarship Committee will review all applications and select the recipient(s)
  • Award winners will be notified in June 2020 and will be invited to attend an award presentation during the June Staff Senate meeting

For questions, email or call 910.962.3177.

Textbook Scholarship

The Textbook Scholarship Program allows eligible UNCW employees to borrow required textbook(s) from the UNCW Bookstore for undergraduate or graduate classes taken by tuition benefit or fee waiver. Please click here for application information and details.

Janet B. Royster (JBR) Memorial Staff Scholarship Fund

The Janet B. Royster (JBR) Memorial Staff Scholarship Fund was created in August of 2011 by the UNC Staff Assembly in memory of UNC-TV employee Janet B. Royster. Janet represented UNC-TV on the General Administration Staff Forum and was subsequently elected to the UNC Staff Assembly. She served as its first Parliamentarian until her untimely death in June 2011. This scholarship promotes staff development for permanent, full-time, non-faculty employees, as well as recognizes and honors Janet’s leadership and dedication to all UNC employees.

The JBR Memorial Staff Scholarship provides one or more annual awards, based on the availability of funds. Scholarships provide assistance towards earning a degree or other professional certification. The maximum award amount per academic year is $1,000.  Awards are not automatically renewable. Recipients are selected by a Selection Committee. Some of the following factors will be considered by the committee in making selections:

  • The educational goals of the applicant
  • The financial needs of the applicant
  • The commitment of the applicant to his or her UNC employer institution
  • The relationship of the educational program to the applicant’s job

Application Instructions

In addition to the application, you will also need two letters of recommendation, a copy of your UNC employee identification card, and a copy of your resume. You may also include information about the course or training which you are seeking.
Visit for more information.

Erskine B. Bowles Staff Service Award

The Erskine B. Bowles Staff Service Award is given to a permanent, full-time staff member who has shown exemplary understanding, empathy and devotion to mankind and whose accomplishments are consistent with the goals exemplified by Erskine B. Bowles during his tenure as UNC President and in accordance with the University's public service mission. For more information, click here.