School of Nursing Newsletter

Notable Recognition

Photo of Susan SinclairCongratulations to Susan Sinclair, professor of clinical research, for recognition of her teaching excellence. Sinclair is the recipient of the 2017 Chancellor’s Teaching Excellence Award. This award recognizes all aspects of excellence in teaching and in teaching-related activities that foster students' desire for lifetime learning and success.  Up to five Chancellor's Teaching Excellence Awards (two from the College of Arts and Sciences, one from the Watson School of Education, one from the Cameron School of Business and one from the College of Health and Human Services) are awarded annually. As one of the recipients of the 2017 award, Sinclair receives a medallion to wear at official ceremonies (university convocations and commencements) and a stipend.

Sinclair, an international expert in pharmacoepidemiology, has published and presented extensively on this topic. She earned her Ph.D. in epidemiology from the School of Public Health at the UNC Chapel Hill, her MPH degree in environmental sciences from the School of Public Health, Columbia University, and her BSN from the ECU School of Nursing. Sinclair has played a prominent role in growing the B.S. Clinical Research program, which involved heavy recruitment efforts and curriculum evaluation and modifications. She served as the program coordinator for the CCR programs from 2010-14, as the SON faculty chair in the 2014-15 academic year, and also led the development of a new workload policy.

Congratulations to one of our own: Blaise Bolan (BSN - May ’97; MSN – May ’10), has been selected to receive the 2017 UNCW School of Nursing Outstanding Alumni Award. This award is presented annually to an alumni of the SON who has demonstrated leadership qualities, has contributed to nursing care standards through application of best practices and evidence, and is active in improving upon the health and well-being of the community. See related story under Nurses Day Celebration – 2017. 

Congratulations to Beth Gazza for being nominated for the UNCW Excellence in e-Learning Award, an award given by the Office of e-Learning to recognize excellence in online and web-enhanced course design. The award is given to one recipient each year and a presentation is made at the fall university faculty meeting. 

The following nursing faculty were recognized by the Office of Student Affairs for the May ’17 graduating students’ acknowledgements of faculty mentorships, inspiration and guidance: Jane AndersonMitzi AveretteMelissa BarberApril BiceTraci BramlettLolita BryantDeborah Covington, Daisy Deweese-Gatt, Anne-Marie GoffNancy GrantKelli GriggsMartha HeplerAmanda JeffriesCarolyn Jones, Yeoun Soo Kim-GodwinRuthAnne KuiperBarbara Lutz, April Mattias, Michelle McEwen-CampbellBrandy Mechling, William Mountford, Melissa ReddyPaula ReidPenny SauerCynthia Schweizer, Linda Shostak, Christy SimmermanSusan Sinclair, Stephanie Smith, Stephanie TurriseApril Ventura, Marge Verzella, Patty WhiteHeidi Winslow and Nina Williams. Faculty from Clinical Research were also recognized: Jared KerrJames LyonBarbara Jo Pennington and Susan Sinclair