Public and International Affairs


Alumni and Friends

Giving Logo

Distinguished Alumni

Poltical Science Majors

  • Katie Angell - 1st year Ph.D. program at University of Kentucky 

  • Francis De Luca - President, John W. Pope Civitas Institute

  • Robert Hatem - Travel Security Analyst in Washington, D.C.

  • Kaitlin Helms - attending Law School at the University of North Carolina Chapel Hill

  • Brandon Macsata and Amanda Kornegay - Political Consultant

  • Caroline Logan - Internship with The Borgen Project, and will be attending the London School of Economics and Political Science for her Masters degree.

  • Taylor Playforth - Regional Field Director of the North Carolina Republican Party

  • Bill Saffo - Mayor City of Wilmington

  • Jon Thompson - Press Secretary at the Republican Governors Association

  • Hank Tucker - International Business Development at Lockheed Martin

  • Guy Valente - Inspector with the Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons in the Hague (OPCW), Nobel Peace Prize team member

  • Evan Arant - currently teaches high school in the Marshall Islands. As the only math and econ teacher, his classes include: Pre-Calculus, Algebra, Algebra II, Geometry, Accounting, and Economics. He is also the high school boys' basketball coach. Recently accepted into the John Hopkins SAIS International Development Programme, he will be participating in a Tsinghua University and SAIS dual degree program in the fall of 2017 in Beijing.

Master of Public Administration Graduates

  • Bill Bennett (2005) - Director of Engineering, North Carolina State Ports Authority

  • Elton Daniels (2009) - Magistrate, Brunswick County, NC

  • Erin Diener (2007) Director, Cape Fear Housing Land Trust

  • Albert Eby (2006) - Director, Cape Fear Public Transportation Authority/WAVE Transien

  • Ann Hardy (2004) - Director of Fiscal Operations, Brunswick County NC

  • Renda Yvonne Hughes (2008) - Director of Financial Services, Coastal Carolinas Health Alliance

  • Brian Johnson (2007) - Federal Affairs Manager, Americans for Tax Reform

  • Blair Knox (2004) - Town Manager, Town of Pilot Mountain, NC

  • Rhonda Smith (2007) - Chief Deputy, New Hanover Sheriff's Office

  • Sallie Smyth, Greater Wilmington Chamber of Commerce, Cape Fear Future Program Coordinator