Watson Chronicle


Support for Educators in the Field

WCE Honors Promise of Leadership Award Recipients

Thursday, May 01, 2014

Promise of Leadership Award recipients

This year’s Promise of Leadership Award recipients and their faculty mentors were honored for their collaboration and achievements at a professional learning day for beginning teachers held at the Watson College of Education April 10.

The college offers Promise of Leadership Awards to beginning teachers through the First Years of Teaching Support Program, which is coordinated by teacher-in-residence Somer Lewis. Award recipients are nominated by school systems and selected based on a commitment to teaching diverse learners, innovative use of technology and leadership potential.

A goal of the initiative is to provide second and third year teachers a leadership role that enhances their effectiveness in the classroom. Each Promise of Leadership teacher is matched with a Watson College faculty mentor based on his or her research interests. Over the course of the year, they work together to plan and present a professional development session for beginning teachers.

Congratulations to our eighteen 2013-14 Promise of Leadership teams.

  • Andrea Alvino, Laney High School, mentor Somer Lewis
  • Mallory Bendig, Ashley High School, mentor Donyell Roseboro
  • Lora Crowley, Eaton Elementary, mentor Kathy Fox
  • Brittany Damato, East Columbus High School, mentor Ginger Rhodes
  • Hannah Evans, Kenansville Elementary, mentor Ronnie Weppler
  • Amanda Greene, Williams Township Elementary, mentor Brian Brinkley
  • Amber Hines, Trask Middle School, mentor Salena Rabidoux
  • Samantha Hurley, Forest Hills Elementary, mentor Susan Catapano
  • Tyler Knotts, Acme Delco Elementary, mentor Becky Walker
  • Courtney Lewis, Cape Fear Center for Inquiry, mentor Lisa Buchanan
  • Senora Lisane, Beginnings and Beyond- Warsaw Elementary, mentor Jale Aldemir
  • Michael Rheel, Cape Fear Center for Inquiry, Sue Combs
  • Jessica Shaw, Hoggard High School, mentor Denise Ousley-Exum
  • Gina Signorile, Forest Hills Elementary, mentor Heidi Higgins
  • Taylor Thomas, Ashley High School, mentor Candace Thompson
  • Shari Thompson, Hoggard High School, mentor Dennis Kubasko
  • Wendy Turrentine, New Hanover High School, mentor Jeffrey Ertzberger
  • Eric Wall, Isaac Bear Early College, mentor Cory Callahan