Watson Chronicle


Watson College News

Watson College Recognitions

Monday, January 20, 2014

Faculty Highlights

Cahill Award Winners Announced

Three Watson College professors received Charles L. Cahill Awards for faculty research and development from the UNCW Office of Research Services. 

Susan Catapano James DeVita Martin Wasserberg

Susan Catapano, chair, Department of Educational Leadership (EL), received $3,000 for work titled “Exploration of Instructional Leadership in Primary and Secondary Schools in Belize.”

James DeVita, assistant professor, EL, received $3,000 for work titled “Examining the Critical Transitions of LGBTQ Students in Higher Education: Considering Multiple Identities and Contexts.”

Martin Wasserberg, assistant professor, Early Childhood, Elementary, Middle, Literacy and Special Education (EEMLS) received $1,162 for work titled “Student Voice Projects as a Catalyst for K-12 Academic Engagement.”

WCE Research Mini Grants are Awarded

Eighteen awards were granted by the Watson College to support faculty research projects. Recipients of these $1,000 – 2,000 awards are:

  • Jale Aldemir, EEMLS, “Project Based Science Curriculum in Early Childhood Classroom”
  • Lisa Buchanan, EEMLS, “Elementary Experiences/Examining Immigration/First Year Teaching”
  • Edward Caropreso, Institutional Technology, Foundations and Secondary Education (ITFSE), “Students’ Perceptions of Grades and Grading”
  • Marsha Carr, EL, “The Art of Student Self-MentoringÔ; Building Self-Efficacy and Confidence as Young Leaders”
  • Susan Catapano, EL, “”Culturally Relevant Books for Middle Grades”
  • Sue-Jen Chen, ITFSE, “Learning English through Singing and Student’s Perception of Grades and Grading”
  • James DeVita and Andrew Ryder, EL, “Examining Program Delivery Modalities in Higher Education/Student Affairs Master’s Programs”
  • Kathy Fox, EEMLS, “Elementary PST’s Experiences with a Classroom Management Course” and “Investigation of Males in the Internship and Early Years of Teaching”
  • Amy Garrett Dikkers, EL, “Exploring High School Blended Learning Models”
  • Heidi Higgins and Tracy Hargrove, EEMLS, “Illuminating Children’s Understanding of Early Number Concepts”
  • Scott Imig and Robert Smith, EL/ITFSE, “N.C. Education Legislation and its Effects on Teachers, Instruction and Higher Education”
  • Hengameh Kermani, EEMLS, “Using iPods to Support Children’s Learning of Mathematics”
  • Christine Liao, EEMLS, “Integrating Technology to Teach Media Arts and 21st Century Skills”
  • Florence Martin and Jeff Ertzberger, ITFSE, “Effects of Reflection on Here and Now Mobile Learning”
  • Maurice Martinez, ITFSE, “Sustaining the Momentum: African American Role Models”
  • Ray Pastore, ITFSE, “Gamification in the Classroom”
  • William Sterrett and Angelia Reid Griffin, EL/ITFSE, “Understanding the Self-Efficacy of Students Engaged in Project Based Learning”
  • Amy Taylor, EEMLS, “Documenting learning conversations during field trips to Informal Science Education Settings”

Other Faculty Recognitions

Kathryn Aldrich, ITFSE, received the Roy E. Harkin Part-Time Faculty Service Award in 2013 in recognition of her outstanding contributions to the college. The award was established to honor the first dean of the Watson College who actively recruited part-time personnel to assist the faculty.

Amy Garrett Dikkers, assistant professor, EL and Somer Lewis, teacher-in-residence, authored “Virtual High School Teacher and Student Reactions to the Social Presence Model,” along with Aimee Whiteside of The University of Tampa. The peer-reviewed article was published in the Journal of Interactive Online Learning in December 2013.

Garrett Dikkers also presented research in K-12 online learning at three conferences in fall 2013 including papers titled “Exploring the Teacher and Student Experience in a 9-12 Virtual Learning Program” and “Building Social Presence Online: 10 Tips and Tricks You Can Implement Today,” presented at the iNACOL Blended and Online Learning Symposium in Orlando in October; a paper titled, “Creating Social Presence in Asynchronous Online Learning,” presented at the Global Learning Technology Conference hosted by UNCW in October and a poster titled, “District Snapshot: Blended and Online Learning for At-Risk Youth,” presented at the SLOAN-C International Conference on Online Learning in Orlando in November.

Janna Robertson, professor, ITFSE, is a contributing author to a book published in 2013 that examines the role of schools in creating a democratic citizenship by chronicling the work of transforming pedagogues. Her chapter, “Noam Chomsky: Father of Modern Linguistics,” appears in James Kirylo, ed., A Critical Pedagogy of Resistance: 34 Pedagogues We Need to Know (Rotterdam, The Netherlands: Sense Publishers).

Amy Rottmann, director of student engagement and recruitment for the Watson College, received a 2013 Discere Aude Award for her outstanding efforts in student mentoring. 

Staff Recognitions

Service Awards announced at the 2013 WCE Holiday Luncheon

  • Daniel Beguhl – 5 years
  • Joy Childs – 5 years
  • Dianne Evans- 5 years
  • Laurie Howell – 10 years
  • Nancy Jones – 20 years
  • Kristine Wetherill – 10 years

Alumni Updates

Melissa Gillespie (B.A., secondary social studies education ’03) was named North Carolina Southeast Regional Teacher of the Year in December. Gillespie, a social studies teacher and Laney High School and partnership teacher with the Watson College, is one of nine finalists vying for North Carolina Teacher of the Year. 

Yvonne Kidd (B.A., elementary education ’91) was elected to the UNCW Board of Trustees in December. Kidd is a former elementary and middle school teacher and current member and past chair of the Asheboro City Schools Board of Education.

Lory Morrow (B.A., elementary education ’89) was named superintendent of Davidson County Schools in December.  Morrow is a 24-year veteran educator who most recently was the deputy superintendent of instruction for Gaston County Schools. 

Partnership Teacher Updates

Angela Garland, assistant principal at Jacksonville High School and WCE partnership teacher in support of the secondary M.A.T. program was named Onslow County School District’s 2013-14 Assistant Principal of the Year. 

Letisha Kirby, WCE partnership teacher, secondary science education, is the 2013 recipient of the North Carolina Science Teachers Association award for Distinguished Service in Science Education – Senior High. Kirby is a science teacher at North Brunswick High School.

Tabitha Smith, elementary school teacher at Beulaville Elementary in Duplin County, received the Roy E. Harkin Teacher Recognition Award in 2013. The award was established in 2008 to recognize a public school teacher who has contributed to the preparation of future teachers by demonstrating excellence as a partnership teacher and/or site coordinator.