OIDI Announces 2022-23 Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Fellows

Monday, June 20, 2022

Eleven faculty and staff have been selected as Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Fellows to assist university leaders in designing programs and policies to foster a more inclusive climate at UNCW.

The fellows program was established in 2020 by the UNCW Office of Institutional Diversity and Inclusion, in partnership with the Office of the Provost, the Division of Student Affairs, the Office of Business Affairs and the Office of General Counsel. Fellows collaborate with each office on projects that focus on institutional priorities related to diversity and inclusion.

“The inaugural cohort of DEI Fellows supported institutional areas prioritized by senior campus leaders. We appreciate their research and other efforts that advanced several administrative initiatives on campus and within the community,” said Kimberley Cheatham, OIDI outreach coordinator. “The incoming cohort will convene in August to explore potential areas of service that complement the university’s guiding principles of belonging, accountability, responsibility and representation.”

The fellows’ projects will address the following areas:

  • Recruitment, retention and success of diverse students, faculty and staff
  • Analyzing and expanding curricular offerings
  • Cultivating inclusive partnerships or community engagement with diverse external organizations
  • Developing policies and procedures for the reporting and addressing of bias incidents
  • Facilitating grant collaborations to support diversity and inclusion initiatives
  • Development and evaluation of innovative professional development in diversity and inclusion for students, staff and faculty

Faculty and staff selected as fellows are:

  • Dr. Babette Boyd, Senior Lecturer, Department of Sociology and Criminology
  • Dr. Kimberly Cook, Professor of Sociology and Criminology, Department of Sociology and Criminology
  • Dr. Kris Hohn, Assistant Professor, School of Social Work
  • Teddy Howell, Residence Coordinator, Housing and Residence Life
  • Mike Jefferson, Residence Coordinator, Housing and Residence Life
  • Dr. Christine Pesetski, Assistant Dean of Undergraduate Studies and University College Director
  • Dr. Remington Poulin, Assistant Professor and Director of Spectroscopy, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Dr. Menaka Raguparan, Assistant Professor of Criminology, Department of Sociology and Criminology
  • Latisha Rivera, First-Year Admission Coordinator, Office of Admissions
  • Dr. Priyadarshini Shanker, Assistant Professor of Film Studies, Department of Film Studies
  • Kirsten Wisneski, Research Development Specialist, Research and Innovation

Visit the DEI Fellows program website for additional information. Campus entities interested in having a DEI Fellow assist with their unit’s DEI initiatives are invited to complete this questionnaire

--Venita Jenkins