UNCW Faculty Honored for Teaching, Scholarship and Service

Friday, September 10, 2021

UNCW honored faculty for accomplishments in teaching, scholarship and service during the fall faculty meeting on Sept. 9. The event, held virtually for the second year, recognizes the dedication and talents of the university’s faculty.

During his remark, Chancellor Jose V. Sartarelli thanked the faculty for their commitment to students. “Once again, due to the pandemic, we are facing a challenging start to the fall semester. Once again, you are responding to changing circumstances with flexibility and understanding,” he said. “I appreciate the support you are providing to students, fellow faculty, staff and the university community.”

Provost James Winebrake, who presented the awards, described the faculty’s commitment to the students, research and service as “awe-inspiring.” 

The 2021 faculty award winners are: 

Professor of English Victor Malo-Juvera, who joined UNCW in 2012, received the Board of Trustees Teaching Excellence Award, the most prestigious award conferred at UNCW. He was also one of two recipients of the Distinguished Teaching Professorship Award, from which the BOT Teaching Excellence Award winner is selected. Professor Wayland Tseh in the School of Health and Applied Human Sciences was the second honoree.

Jeffrey L. Brudney, Betty and Dan Cameron Family Distinguished Professor of Innovation in the Nonprofit Sector, received the Distinguished Faculty Scholar Award. The award was presented posthumously by Faculty Senate President Nathan Grove. Brudney passed away after a brief illness on April 4. Peter W. Schuhmann, professor of economics and finance, was the second honoree. 

Communication studies associate professor William “Bill” Bolduc was presented with the J. Marshall Crews Distinguished Faculty Award for exemplary leadership and service to students, the community and UNCW. The award is given by the Alumni Association in honor of the late UNCW faculty member and administrator Crews (1919-2010).

The following awards were also presented:

Distinguished Scholarly Engagement and Public Service Award

  • Angelia R. Reid-Griffin (Senior Scholar), Instructional Technology, Foundations, and Secondary Education 
  • Meredith Jones (Junior Scholar), Education Early Childhood, Elementary, Middle, Literacy and Special Education

Excellence in eLearning Award

  • Elizbeth Fugate-Whitlock, School of Health and Applied Human Sciences

Graduate Faculty Mentor Award 

  • Meghan M. Sweeney, English

Lecturer of the Year Award

  • Heather Corpus, Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Lori Dugan, School of Social Work
  • Ann Rotchford, Sociology and Criminology

Part-time Lecturer of the Year 

  • Nicole Draina, English
  • Jessica Hartmann, School of Health and Applied Human Sciences
  • Robert “Bob” Pious, Cameron School of Business

Two other awards that were previously announced were recognized at the meeting:

Chancellor’s Teaching Excellence Award

  • Arthur Frampton, Biology and Marine Biology
  • Beverley McGuire, Philosophy & Religion
  • Rachael Urbanek, Environmental Sciences
  • Alexia Franzidis, School of Health and Applied Human Sciences
  • Victoria Hansen, Accountancy 
  • Daisyane Barreto, Instructional Technology, Foundations and Secondary Education

Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching

  • Eman Ghoneim, Earth and Ocean Sciences

In addition, full-time faculty members who have been at UNCW for five, 10, 15, 20, 25 and 30 years were honored for their years of service. 

--Venita Jenkins