WCE Alumni Dominate Nominations for New NHCS “Rookie of the Year” Award

Thursday, February 02, 2017

Nine graduates from the UNCW Watson College of Education are among the 16 teachers nominated for New Hanover County Schools’ first "Rookie of the Year" award.

NHCS is partnering with the Wilmington Downtown Rotary Club on the recognition, which honors outstanding professionals in their second and third years of teaching. Nominations were submitted by area principals.

“The nominees represent a wide range of teaching areas and grade levels and their work is exemplary of the best of the teaching profession,” said WCE Dean Van O. Dempsey III. “They are a testament to the sense of opportunity and optimism educators create every day.”

UNCW’s Strategic Plan emphasizes excellence in teaching, and these alumni are certainly giving wings to a core value of their alma mater.

The nine nominees are:

  • Kara Abbott ’14, Ogden Elementary
  • Morgan Bullard ’14, Pine Valley Elementary
  • Joseph Callahan ’15, Trask Middle School
  • Kelsey Dibernardo ’13, Freeman Elementary
  • Caroline Kemmerer ’14, College Park Elementary
  • Whitney Lanier ’13, New Hanover High School
  • Courtney Malahias ’88, Snipes Academy of Arts & Design
  • Ashley Pavlick ’14, M.C. Williams Elementary
  • Danielle Williams ’14, Laney High School

The winner will be announced on Feb. 7 and recognized at the March meeting of the Board of Education.

-- Caroline Cropp