UNCW Calls for Nominations for the Albert Schweitzer Honors Award

Monday, July 06, 2015

The Honors Scholars College and Randall Library at UNCW are soliciting nominations for the annual Albert Schweitzer Honors Scholar. The award recognizes a regional resident who exemplifies the attributes and ideals of Albert Schweitzer, a humanitarian, scholarly theologian, medical missionary and a 1952 Nobel Peace Prize winner. Nominees must have made a difference in the areas of medicine, music or humanitarian efforts and demonstrate the ideals of Schweitzer’s philosophy of “reverence for life:”

Reverence for life affords me my fundamental principle of morality, namely, that good consists in maintaining, assisting and enhancing life, and that to destroy, to harm or to hinder life is evil. Affirmation of the world – that is, affirmation of the will to live, which appears in phenomenal form all around me – is only possible for me in that I give myself out for other life. Without understanding the meaning of the world, I act from an inner necessity of my being so as to create values and to live ethically. For in life-affirmation and in ethics, I fulfill the will of the universal will to live, which reveals itself to me.”

(Attributed to Albert Schweitzer, September 1965)

The Albert Schweitzer Honors Scholar will be invited to deliver the 2015 Schweitzer lecture to the assembled Honors Scholars freshman class in November.

Past recipients of the Albert Schweitzer Honors Scholars Award are:

  • 2002: Gerald Shinn, Ph.D., professor emeritus of philosophy and religion, University of North Carolina Wilmington, founder of the Albert Schweitzer International Prizes
  • 2003: Dr. Kenneth White, Wilmington physician and board-certified plastic surgeon, leader of numerous medical mission trips to the Dominican Republic
  • 2004: Margaret Weller-Stargell, president and chief executive officer of Coastal Horizons Center, Inc., dedicated to providing crisis intervention and substance abuse prevention outreach services in the Wilmington area
  • 2005: Susan Dankel, former general manager, WHQR Public Radio, dedicated to enhancing the experience of music for the residents of southeastern North Carolina
  • 2006: Mary Isaac Koenig, S.U., humanitarian and committed social activist with St. Mary Social Outreach Program serving the needy of the Wilmington area
  • 2007: Jock Brandis, author, film technician, inventor of the Malin Peanut Sheller and founder of the Full Belly Project, a non-profit organization dedicated to designing and distributing unique appropriate technologies to improve the lives of people in developing countries
  • 2008: Jean Beasley, founder and executive director of the Karen Beasley Sea Turtle Rescue and Rehabilitation Center at Topsail Island, NC
  • 2009: Rev. Don Skinner, founder and executive director of Phoenix Employment Ministries, a non-profit program to empower the homeless and nearly homeless to become job-ready and seek and maintain employment and self-sufficiency
  • 2010: Jimmy Pierce, founder and executive director of Kids Making It, a work and skills development program for at-risk youth in the Cape Fear Region
  • 2011: Scott Whisnant, founder of Cape Fear Health Net, offering affordable health care to low income area residents
  • 2012: Dr. J. Richard Corbett, Wilmington physician, board-certified radiologist and member of the Board of the Cape Fear Memorial Foundation that serves the health and medical needs of the people of southeastern North Carolina
  • 2013: Dr. R.T. Sinclair Jr., co-founder of the Cape Fear Memorial Hospital, Cape Fear Memorial Foundation and the Cornelia Nixon Davis Healthcare Center, all organizations that impact health care services in southeastern North Carolina
  • 2014: Camilla Herlevich, founder and executive director of North Carolina Coastal Land Trust, a non-profit organization dedicated to enriching the coastal communities of North Carolina through conservation, education and land stewardship.

To nominate a Cape Fear resident for this year’s award, please send his or her name, along with a description of the contributions made in the areas listed above, by Aug. 3 to